We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Terra Bahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Terra Bahia to your Saves list
Riad Terra Bahia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No9 Derb Jdid, | Quartier Assalam, Marrakech médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good points:
Location of the riad was good, it was just off a main road but as we arrived so late at night (1.30am) it proved difficult to find for the taxi driver. Re-iterating a comment below, ask the taxi driver to take you to La Tanjia restaurant (which is very well known) and it is down the narrow street to the right of the restaurant maybe 150 yards or so. Even though we arrived so late, the night staff had been waiting for us and offered us tea when we arrived.
We stayed in the superior suite which was very spacious and well decorated and included a sofa, plenty of mirrors for getting ready and good facilities. It looked even better than the pictures. Our room was the only room on the roof terrace which was nice and we often had the space to ourselves to use the pool and seating areas with nice views.
Saeed the manager was very friendly and welcoming, he was always willing to help us and provide us with information when we needed. He told us about and booked us a day trip to the Atlas mountains which was one of our best experiences we had on our trip.
The food at the riad was delicious and nicer than any restaurants that we ate at including La Tanjia, we highly recommend eating there.
All the staff were very helpful, kind and friendly and whenever we asked for anything it was provided quickly such as ironing, tea, breakfast and lunch which was kindly prepared for us on a last minute request.
The riad was close to Jamaa El Fna, about a 10-15 minute walk, as well as other places to visit such as Palais de Bahia and Palais El Badi. The riad was also only 10-15 minutes from the airport.

Bad points:
There was nothing that we were particularly unhappy about during our stay. However, although wifi was provided and was good around the whole riad we didn’t get very good signal from our room on the roof terrace. This was not a big issue as we had wifi outside our room on the terrace in some spots. We spoke to Saeed about this who informed us that they are looking into getting some additional connections which would be good for future guests. The only other thing was that the breakfast was very limited compare to other riads we stayed in.

Room Tip: Make sure to pick the superior suite. It's well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place could be wonderful. Firstly it is ve Ryan well sited and within easy walking distance of everything in central Marrakesh. The room we had which I understand is the best one was nicely furnished. Shower rather limited though. Sprayed all over the place as needs attention to shower head. Also somewhat variable in temp and force. Also bed like a rock! Breakfast is v limited indeed and we did eat there on first night but found food poor and overpriced compared with places we ate in Marrakesh. Nice rooftop area with plunge pool which is an excellent spot to spend hot afternoons. Also has a verandah area where you can eat/ drink. Only problem was that it stank of cat piss and it was easy to see why when we were up there. I like cats but I don't want them marking their territory as one large Tom does constantly where I'm eating. Staff v helpful although at times we wondered where they were. Overall I think this is an OK place to stay but it could and should e so much better with some attention to detail. One other thing. Helps if you speak french

Room Tip: Atlas room best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Magnificent place in old Medina....well decorating.. like that you are in past time of old Marrakech....sitting on the terasse and looking at Atlas mountain....is unique expirience .....Lovely place..nice food ...and atmosphere ....top customer service and nice location in Medina ...U must visit this place !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The place is in the old Medina and is a real oasis! The monent you go throug the door you feel like in the fairy tail! The owner is a very pleasant french women who decorated the place herself with a lots of style, preserving the original style of the beautiful atrium house from 18th century. Rooftop terrace w a small swimming pool and a great service... One of the best places I ever visited :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here and found it to be a haven from the bustle of the medina outside. It was also quite close to the outside of the walls so easy to get a taxi etc. The rooms were tastefully decorated and quite roomy with a comfortable bed. The shower was also good. The rooftop area with its view across to the palace walls and nesting storks, and the snow capped High Atlas mountains beyond, was a real highlight. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the whole place had a good feel to it. The only disappointment was the food. The breakfasts and dinners were quite mediocre and seemed to get smaller each day. I would still stay here again but would probably eat dinner elsewhere. There were plenty of options but we'd had enough by the end of each day and decided to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The Riad has been thoughtfully put together, both the rooms and common areas are very well decorated. Wifi was a bit dead in my room, but not the end of the world. My room was comfortable, clean, well decorated and had a very comfy bed. The location is ok, maybe a little further from the main square than most would like, but it is quiet and there is a nice bar with good music around the corner. The staff were nice, but could not speak great English. The breakfast was ok. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have been very pleased with my experience at the Riad Terra Bahia, we booked three suites with my friends on the first floor and we were amazed by the staff who was so kind even after 3am. We had wonderful evenings on the roof top with an impressive view on the eternal snow of the Atlas. Moreover the owner of the hotel is close to the customers and is very concerned about their well being. Finally, the localization is ideal and I would recommend it without hesitation !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Terra Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Terra Bahia

Address: No9 Derb Jdid, | Quartier Assalam, Marrakech médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Terra Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Terra Bahia dates the 18th century, he was renovated and decorated in a Moroccan and modern style at the same time. It is situated in 5 minutes on foot of the Palace Bahia, the palace Badi and the graves of Saadiens as well as in 10 minutes on foot the square Jema El Fna and of Koutoubia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Budget Places, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Terra Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Terra Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.