We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE riad to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Slawi to your Saves list
Riad Slawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
“THE riad to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Marrakech can seem a daunting place for the first time visitor but not if you are in the safe hands of Adam, the manager at Riad Slawi. We stayed there for three days in August 09 and he could not have done any more to make sure that our trip and experience of Marrakech exceeded all our expectations. From the friendliness of his greeting on our arrival to the confort and cleanliness of the whole riad, we have nothing but the highest of praise for Adam and his staff. Special mention must also go out to Adam's colleague, Mohammed, who happily guided us through the myriad of the medina's alleyways, never without a smile on his face. Definitely THE riad to stay if you visit Marrakech, we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
180
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed at Riad Slawi for 2 nights during our visit to Marrakech. Our driver who drove us from Agadir to Marrakesh could not find the location of the riad. One telephone call and Mustapha bent backwards to ensure we arrived safely by sending Muhammed to fetch us and take us to the Riad.
First impression was mind blowing and took our breath away. The Riad is absolutely beautiful and tastefully decorated Moroccan style!.
On our arrival we were given drinks to cool down and our luggage taken away for us. Mustapha arranged for a Moraccan meal one evening, and this has to best one of the best tasting dishes we have had in a long time...even my 6 year old fussy eater tucked in mmmmmm!
On our early morning departure, Mustapha made us a warm breakfast @ 5.00am, just to ensure we did not leave on an empty stomach.
Our stay in the Riad will be one which will be with us for a long time and we certainly would not hesitate to recommend the Riad Slawi!
Thank you Mustapha.

Yusuf & Anisha (England)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Riad Slawi is indeed the beautiful place that can see in the pictures posted on trip advisor. The Riad is gorgeous, super clean and the breakfasts are amazing. The property is an oasis of silence in the Medina of Marrakech, and Adam, the manager, is truly kind and always willing to help.
On the downside, during my 2 nights at the riad, the air-con never worked at all!!!! There was an air-con device in the room but it was broken, so I told Adan, who apologised and gave us a fan for the next night. The fan was OK, and the gesture was appreciated, but considering the super high temperatures in July and August, we did miss the air-con a lot.
The second shortcoming is the location. The Medina is a small labyrinthe and the Riad is a 15 minute walk from the central square of Marrakech IF YOU DON´T GET LOST! Otherwise, be prepared to have your patience tested! :-)
On the whole the price/quality balance inclines definitely in favor of Riad Slawi.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadSlawi, Manager at Riad Slawi, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
The Riad Slawi management appologizes regarding the problems we had with our air conditioning system and we are happy to say that our air conditioning system has been fixed . All our rooms have air-conditioning .

Thank you ,

Adam ( Manager , Riad Slawi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Located at the Northern end of the walled city, this Riad is in one of the poorer areas, but ideally/centrally located for all the sights. It is very quiet of a night. The first journey from the taxi drop off to the Riad may seem so difficult that you'll never remember it but we never got lost. Adam is a great host, nothing is too much trouble and he made sure we had a fantastic holiday. His language skills and knowledge of the area allow you to have a great stay. Just email him before the holiday and he will arrange it for when you arrive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I stayed solo from July 2 to the 4th, and the owner Adam was a very nice and accommodating host! I had some problems with a taxi and he cleared it up right away,a nd was great with advice and help on what to do in the city. He arranged taxis and guides, and always met you when you needed him.

Definitely recommend a stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The owner - Adam, keeps a beautiful Riad in the heart of Marrakech. A short walk from the main square it's situated in the Medina near the Sidi Ben Slimane. This makes it a quite, peaceful place to relax after a busy day. Again, Adam helped us in many aspects of our stay (as mentioned by others below). Our room was tidied each day and the rest of the Riad was immaculate. Breakfasts were also amazing. Getting back at night was no problem as Adam would come and meet you at the drop off point for taxis.

Cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

During our recent 12-day trip in Morocco my husband I spent 4 four days in the amazing city of Marrekech and Riad Slawi was our choice to relax. We are very happy for this choice. Riad Slawi is tastefully and beautifully decorated. Its rooms are clean and comfy even for hot nights. Adam, the manager in charge, is very helpful and resourceful. We have no reservation in recommending Riad Slawi to anyone. A note though to those who will have large and heavy luggage, Riad Slawi is somewhat a long walk from the point you will be dropped off by taxi. This walk does allow you to have a glimpse of the daily life of local people in the Medina.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Slawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.