We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Slawi

Save Saved
You added Riad Slawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Slawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Riad Slawi was an absolutely brilliant place to stay. The owner Adam is absolutely phenomenal - his hospitality went above and beyond. He made us feel completely at home, originally meeting us in the main square, taking us places so we weren't lost and even getting on the phone to Europcar when we were having trouble! The guest house itself is charming, clean and peaceful with lovely personal touches. The food was really excellent. Would definitely go back next time I visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
173
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A beautiful riad in a magical city, the perfect way to spend a city break. The owner Adam attended to our every need and organised day trips for us that we would not have been able to do ourselves. An amazing holiday that I will never forget, I want to plan a trip back to Marrakech already!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Riad Slawi is a gorgeous place to stay. The owner Adam really does make you feel like family, and we were instantly at ease and felt at home. Adam came to meet us and lead us to the riad, and then took the time to find out what we were interested in doing in Marrakech and provided some suggestions of things to see and do.
We had dinner there one night, which was prepared by the ladies who work there and make the breakfast. It was truly delicious and one of the best meals we ate while in Morocco!
All in all, I can definitely recommend Riad Slawi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This review consists of 3 parts:

1. Overall takeaway of the Riad in it's location
2. Pro Tips if lost for finding the Riad and general Marrakech tips & tricks
3. The owner Adam (who deserves his own chapter in this review!)


1. Overall takeaway of the Riad and it's location

The Riad is very romantic and well taken care of by the owner of the Riad. It's location is very close to the old centre and the "souks" are just a 5 minute walk away through the narrow streets of Marrakech.

There are only 4 rooms which are all very accomodating, we actually had the smallest room on the ground floor but it has all the features you'll need like a refrigerator, a nice shower, a comfortable bed and the room itself just oozes romance!

If you're up for a great dinner I recommend asking Adam (the hotel owner) to have them cook you up a great meal. The cook that makes the dinners is a lovely traditional Moroccan-style cook and they'll gladly make you a fantastic 3 course meal!

The breakfasts are great as well, they'll change the main part of your breakfast daily so you won't get fed up with it. Chances are you'll get something like moroccan pancakes, bread, a desert and several different sweet toppings like honey and jelly.


2. Pro Tips if lost for finding the Riad and general Marrakech tips & tricks

Adam called us up the day before arriving, which was a very pleasant surprise, to arrange a ride from the airport to the Riad from where he'd meet us to walk us to the Riad. This was a great service since it's not a good idea to open up a map when walking with your suitcase since people will swarm you to assist you to your Riad. I'll elaborate in the Pro Tips.

Pro Tips if lost:
- If you want to find the Riad when you're lost in the small streets of Marrakech just look for the "Dar Zelij"-Restaurant signs, the Riad is located 1 block away from there!
- Everyone in Marrakech will want to help you find your riad, and maybe along the way sell you a carpet or will at least ask a ridiculous fee after helping you. Avoid this by simply saying "no, thank you" and walk on, even if you don't know where to go.
- Absolutely lost and can't find the Riad? Ask a shopowner where to find the Riad, they'll gladly help you and won't be able to accompany you to your location, win-win!


3. Adam

Adam is really the primary reason I rated the Riad with 5 stars. He's fluent in French, English and of course Moroccan. He's actually a Moroccan who grew up in Canada (eh?) so his English is really outstanding!

Adam is never too shy to help you if you're lost or when you want to go anywhere. He walked us several times to several hotspots in the city and he'll really do anything he can to make your stay a fantastic one. He just couldn't be any more accommodating and he really makes you feel like you're family.

I couldn't recommend this Riad more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Riad Slawi at the beginning of October this year. The riad itself is lovely, it is quite small with only 4 rooms and we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves for a few days. The riad is in quite a quiet location and feels quite residential which is lovely and relaxing after a day out in the city.

The food was absolutely delicious and like other reviews we would definitely recommend eating at the riad on one evening. The breakfasts were also amazing and a real effort is made to serve something different each days so you get to try a real variety of Moroccan breakfasts.

Adam and his staff were all great and very helpful. Adam seems to always be around if you need anything and is always happy to answer any questions.

All in all we would definitely recommend staying at Riad Slawi and if we return to Marrakech (which we hope we will!) we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely riad, tucked away in a quiet Medina neighbourhood. We loved its calmness: A good place to withdraw from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech City. From where the taxi drops you you´ll need to walk a few minutes. The small lanes looked confusing at first and the but we became familiar with the walk in no time, being greeted by the neighborhood kids and the street vendors. The days at the riad started off with a nicely prepared breakfast, introducing a delicious moroccan snack along with the usual bread, butter and jam: yummy! Talking about food: our welcome dinner was a delight, we recommend it strongly to have one at the riad!
Adam is the perfect host: nice and accomodating, always helpful, always an open ear for our needs and concerns. He really made us feel very welcome at his riad.
The house is rather small, it has only 4 rooms/suites, the inner yard is communal seating area and there is another small seating area on the first floor. The rooftop terrace is small but nice, however, view is limited since the house is not to high.
Travelling with a small child we liked the family feeling at the riad too: rather small with maximum four parties at the time there was a good atmosphere of mutual sympathy and trust among the guests.
We absolutely recommend the riad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This lovely little riad is an absolute delight. From when we first made contact with Adam to our final goodbye we could not have asked for better service from the lovely staff. Adam (owner) arranged to meet us where the taxi's drop people off and walked us to the riad (it's not easy to find if you haven't been there before). We then had some mint tea (of course) while Adam gave us some maps, directions and hints. While we were there we wanted to visit a hammam so Adam arranged for one of the ladies to take us up to the local hammam for the visit. She was great and we really appreciated this especially considering we had no idea what we were doing and can't speak french or arabic.
The decor is great and feels very 5 star. The cleanliness of the riad was the best we had experienced in Morocco and we stayed in some really great places.
We also ate at the riad one of the nights and the food was spectacular. They were also fine with us drinking a bottle of wine with our meal.
Wifi was good in the communal spaces but not great in our room. This could have been an issue just with our room though (We stayed in the Kaws room on the second floor). The roof terrace was also really lovely. The bar fridge in our room was useful and the A/C was great.
Location is on the outskirts of the Medina so a good 5 minute walk from the heart of things, but it was in a really authentic part of the Medina with kids playing football in the streets and not many tourists around.
I would highly recommend Riad Slawi for your stay in Marrakech. I would definitely stay there again if i got the chance.

Room Tip: The Kaws room is very light and bright with great furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#99 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Slawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.