We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Slawi to your Saves list
Riad Slawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Riad Slawi at the beginning of October this year. The riad itself is lovely, it is quite small with only 4 rooms and we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves for a few days. The riad is in quite a quiet location and feels quite residential which is lovely and relaxing after a day out in the city.

The food was absolutely delicious and like other reviews we would definitely recommend eating at the riad on one evening. The breakfasts were also amazing and a real effort is made to serve something different each days so you get to try a real variety of Moroccan breakfasts.

Adam and his staff were all great and very helpful. Adam seems to always be around if you need anything and is always happy to answer any questions.

All in all we would definitely recommend staying at Riad Slawi and if we return to Marrakech (which we hope we will!) we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
192
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely riad, tucked away in a quiet Medina neighbourhood. We loved its calmness: A good place to withdraw from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech City. From where the taxi drops you you´ll need to walk a few minutes. The small lanes looked confusing at first and the but we became familiar with the walk in no time, being greeted by the neighborhood kids and the street vendors. The days at the riad started off with a nicely prepared breakfast, introducing a delicious moroccan snack along with the usual bread, butter and jam: yummy! Talking about food: our welcome dinner was a delight, we recommend it strongly to have one at the riad!
Adam is the perfect host: nice and accomodating, always helpful, always an open ear for our needs and concerns. He really made us feel very welcome at his riad.
The house is rather small, it has only 4 rooms/suites, the inner yard is communal seating area and there is another small seating area on the first floor. The rooftop terrace is small but nice, however, view is limited since the house is not to high.
Travelling with a small child we liked the family feeling at the riad too: rather small with maximum four parties at the time there was a good atmosphere of mutual sympathy and trust among the guests.
We absolutely recommend the riad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This lovely little riad is an absolute delight. From when we first made contact with Adam to our final goodbye we could not have asked for better service from the lovely staff. Adam (owner) arranged to meet us where the taxi's drop people off and walked us to the riad (it's not easy to find if you haven't been there before). We then had some mint tea (of course) while Adam gave us some maps, directions and hints. While we were there we wanted to visit a hammam so Adam arranged for one of the ladies to take us up to the local hammam for the visit. She was great and we really appreciated this especially considering we had no idea what we were doing and can't speak french or arabic.
The decor is great and feels very 5 star. The cleanliness of the riad was the best we had experienced in Morocco and we stayed in some really great places.
We also ate at the riad one of the nights and the food was spectacular. They were also fine with us drinking a bottle of wine with our meal.
Wifi was good in the communal spaces but not great in our room. This could have been an issue just with our room though (We stayed in the Kaws room on the second floor). The roof terrace was also really lovely. The bar fridge in our room was useful and the A/C was great.
Location is on the outskirts of the Medina so a good 5 minute walk from the heart of things, but it was in a really authentic part of the Medina with kids playing football in the streets and not many tourists around.
I would highly recommend Riad Slawi for your stay in Marrakech. I would definitely stay there again if i got the chance.

Room Tip: The Kaws room is very light and bright with great furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

If you want a real Moroccan experience ... This is it ! This hidden gem 10 mins away from the souk feels like you could be miles away from the madness. So quiet and relaxed, this Riad made our stay one to remember ! The owner Adam ( who everyone knows in the village ) was so helpful and made us feel secure in everything we did. He actually took us to where we needed to go - if that's not 5 star service I don't know what is. We will 100% be coming back ! Kate & Ben :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A friend and I recently spent three nights at the Riad Slawi. There are probably bigger and/or fancier Riads, but I would not trade either for our experience at Riad Slawi. Riad Slawi is attractive, clean and comfortable, conveniently located, serves delicious food and is exceptionally well-run and accommodating. The evening of our arrival we enjoyed an outstanding 3-course Moroccan dinner, actually the best meal we have had in our five days so far, and was the least expensive. The dinner was prepared fresh on site and included a fabulous - and generous - assortment of Moroccan salads, wonderful chicken tagine with lemon, fresh bread baked that afternoon, and a tasty, light dessert. The breakfasts were just right, consisting of freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt, and each day something pancake or crepe-like hot from the pan, a different kind each day, delicious and new (at least to us), served with jams and cheese, all hand prepared on the spot by two lovely women.

The rooms were spotless, generous in size, attractive and comfortably appointed, with free wi-fi, AC, mini fridge (stocked with water and soft drinks at very reasonable prices), western bathroom, clean comfortable bedding, sitting room and closet space, plus there were two other luxurious sitting areas inside and a beautiful roof-top terrace.

The proprietor speaks English as fluently as he does French and Arabic. He was responsive and efficient right from the first contact and he was tremendously helpful during our stay. We felt secure that if we needed help with anything we need just call and he would come to our assistance. He escorted us personally from the Riad through the souk to Jemma al-Fnaa to show us the route and established a meeting place should we feel we needed his help getting back. He took us to excellent restaurants and ensured we were given good tables, and he negotiated our taxi for us on our departure. He was patient and generous with his time through our many questions about the souk and the culture, providing valuable context for our experiences.

All of this provided us with a unique opportunity to enjoy the experience of the old city while enjoying a sense of comfort and security.

Please know that the entrance to the Riad is not accessible by car so if you are taking a taxi you will be let off at a spot about 3-4minutes and probably either escorted by your driver or taken by a porter in a red cap who wait in the area. Don't let the alleyways and dark doorways deceive you - inside is absolutely lovely and the people you meet on the way friendly - and the children are especially charming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visiting Marrakech for the first time was an excellent experience. Adam is very helpful by arranging a taxi pick up from the airport. On my first day he showed me the way to the main square.
I quickly learned my way to and from the riad and gave me a map just in case, Adam still checked to see if I was ok which was cool.
The breakfast and dinner that Outmani and Zakia made was really لذيذ (tasty) and much welcomed after a lond day. Riad Slawi is a beautiful and much earned retreat after a day exploring.
I hope to return to Marrakech and Riad Slawi soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I can't recommend this place enough, and I agree with pretty much all the recent reviews. Adam is incredibly helpful and friendly, and helps turn a lovely Riad into a really welcoming one. As others have said, I'd recommend eating in one night (quality traditional food), and taking the suggested trip into the mountains is also worthwhile. I think some people stuggle with the winding alleyways, but Adam is always on hand to help, and it's actually pretty easy. To get there, arrange a taxi/porter with the riad upfront, follow your provided map the first time you head to the square, and if you pay attention both those times, you'll be fine from then on in. All in all, a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#58 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#38 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#20 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#41 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Slawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.