We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Riad in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Slawi

Save Saved
You added Riad Slawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Slawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cracking Riad in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I can't recommend this place enough, and I agree with pretty much all the recent reviews. Adam is incredibly helpful and friendly, and helps turn a lovely Riad into a really welcoming one. As others have said, I'd recommend eating in one night (quality traditional food), and taking the suggested trip into the mountains is also worthwhile. I think some people stuggle with the winding alleyways, but Adam is always on hand to help, and it's actually pretty easy. To get there, arrange a taxi/porter with the riad upfront, follow your provided map the first time you head to the square, and if you pay attention both those times, you'll be fine from then on in. All in all, a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
174
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visiting as a couple we had a fantastic stay at this family run riad hidden away in the maze that is Marrakesh. Adam, the manager, was super helpful with all our needs - going out of his way to navigate us through the streets, pick up tickets for us and make our travels less stressful. He was extremely accomodating, and I would strongly recommend a stay at Riad Slawi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in and had a wonderful time. The family who runs this Riad lived in Montreal at one point and their son Adam accompanied me everywhere during my stay - it was like having a friend/ private guide in the City... I felt bad that he had to come with me everywhere but as I was traveling solo, his family insisted!! This riad has the most beautiful and peaceful appearance and feeling. It is steps to the Jemaa al Fna market and they have a gorgeous rooftop patio which is perfect for sunbathing in privacy. This would be my first choice for stay in Marrakech and I hope to return again sometime very soon!! Thank you to the Zniber family for such a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in June 2013. The stay from start to finish was fantastic. Adam is really welcoming, really helpful and always ready with any questions we had. He even set us up with a guide who took us out into the mountains for the day (totally recommended if you get the chance). The riad itself is beautiful - really clean, relaxing and beautifully decorated. Also, the dinner offered is amazing and well worth it. The riad is down some little back streets and you do need to follow a porter on the first occasion, but after you know where you are going it is really not that hard to find, and can easily reach the square in 15 minutes. A great stay, can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and were a bit overwhelmed by the streets of Marrakech. However once we met Adam (the owner) and stepped inside this gorgeous Riad we sighed a big sigh of relief and were able to relax and enjoy our trip. We had the most amazing meal the first night we arrived and it was one of the top meals of our whole trip! If you stay here you must eat at the Riad one night at least. Adam was extremely helpful and guided us into town and supplied us with a map back to the Riad. The room was very comfortable, well decorated and impeccably cleaned. The only issues we had was the location, it took about 25mins from the square to walk there and also it is in a hidden away location, however we travelled as 2 young girls on our own and didn't have any major dramas as long as you keep your wits about you. Thank you so much

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Gorgeous riad! Beautifully decorated rooms and commons areas, very pleasant sun deck. Also, even if you do not stay there, go for dinner. This was probably the best ratio quality/price we had in Marrakech. The best part of the riad is the manager Adam who is a young, fast talking, very dedicated and helpful gentleman. Only " deltas" if I have to find one is that the location is a little hidden inside the district. Also our room was just over the street so we had a few street odors coming in from time to time. But that did count for much.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked Raid Slawi after reading some excellent reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. It's great value for money.
Adam the owner and his staff are great, very personable without being overbearing. He gave us some great tips and a map which helps us get around the massive marrakech medina. The room and amenities are really well designed and the place is well maintained. I would highly recommend Riad Slawi as a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#106 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Slawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.