We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of serenity away from the Mayhem of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Slawi

Save Saved
You added Riad Slawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Slawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
La Brame
2 reviews
“An oasis of serenity away from the Mayhem of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

IiiiWe chose this Riad because of the glowing reports about the hospitality & personality of Adam the owner & the beautiful pictures of the Riad.well I must adimit it even exceeded my expectations.This is a delightful Riad,the rooms are lovely& harmonious ,extremely clean,the woodwork of the rooms & balconies absolutely gorgeous & the minibar perfect. Adam is an excellent host,always available,gracious& helpful but never intrusive,speaks fluent Arabic,English & French,the staff adorable, The food is delectable,the breakfast typically Moroccan is copious,varied& mouthwatering ,Adam even offered us a delicious cake as it was our Anniversary,Although it can be a little daunting at first as it is in a maze of alleyways(if you are like us lacking in navigation skills)because of Adam's helpfulness(even coming to collect us from Jemaa-el-Fna at night!)You eventually conquer it all & enjoy the adventure.Very high standard all round, I highly recommend it,A real gem. Merci du fond du coeur. bonne chance et a bientot! Inch Allah'! xxx chere Monic et Monsieur William.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
173
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed a couple of days at Riad Slawi and we enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Adam really takes care of you goes out of his way to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Riad Slawi is well located and allows you to walk around and discover Marrakesh. The breakfast was excellent.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at Riad Slawi 3 times because we are made so welcome each time. Adam goes out of his way to help his guests in every way. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The evening meals are absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Not sure how anyone could find anything negative to say about this riad. We arrived back home tonight after two weeks in Morocco, with the last three nights at Riad Slawi. I am not a frequent reviewer, but our experience at Riad Slawi was so great that I felt compelled to write a glowing review. This riad is gorgeous and spotless from top to bottom with tons of attention to detail. The neighborhood is ideal...a pleasant walk through the medina and souks to the main square gives you some breathing room from the main tourist areas and an opportunity to experience a less touristy part of the medina. Adam the owner is a great person and he really went out of his way to make us feel welcome and well taken care of during our stay. Keep up the great work! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Queens
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a really great place. Adam is all-around good guy who will make you feel welcome. He arranged our pick up from the train station and he got our train tickets to Rabat for us. He'll walk you through the medina to the square; pay attention so you can find your way back. I'd recommend buying dinner one night: it was delicious, arguably the best meal we had in Morocco and a great introduction to Moroccan cuisine. The riad is beautifully decorated and is kept incredibly clean. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I loved this Riad! I have nothing to complain about! It's quiet and beautiful, and Adam is super friendly and helpful with anything you need to know about local culture, customs, and places you must see. He is also a great conversationalist, so on lazy mornings, he is great to chat with (there's only 4 rooms so you will run into each other a lot and be on a first name basis). We were sadly only here for one night, but we had friends extend their visit because this place was so wonderful. It's true, it is a 3-5 minute walk from the furthest place that taxis can drop you off, but most Riads within the medina and impossible for cars to get to. Adam was waiting for us for taxis drop you off, but we had an unfortunately long wait at customs, and he went back thinking he had the wrong time. A local boy walked us to the Riad, and they will beg and beg for money, but you don't have to give them much. They'll basically follow you waiting for you to get lost and then ask for some money once they point you in the right direction....this is the case all over Marrakech, though, so it's not a downfall to stay here.

Words of warning...taxis in Marrakech are nortoriously overpriced. They refuse to use their meter, but DO NOT pay more than 100-120 DH to/from the airport and the Riad (It's about 10 euro). If the meter does actually run, you'll see the fare should be much less, but NO ONE will take you if you ask to use the meter. Negociate a price ahead of time, stay firm, and take the taxi who will take your fare.

Room Tip: One of the suites hangs over the walkway and woke me up from people walking home late once, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I was so lucky to be staying in this raid . Amazing place , clean , tidy and enjoyable ...
I stayed there for 5night . The owner ADAM is fantastic man , very helpful anytime day or night . We arrived very late in his raid but he was still up waiting for us . After showing us the beautiful room . We could not sleep so were staying in setting room enjoying the decoration .....
The food was the best , do not waste your money in the other restaurant , you can order the food there at fair price and you get on time straight for the kitchen

Well recommended place
Try yourself
Adam all the best , hope to see you soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Slawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.