We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad and wonderful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Slawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Slawi to your Saves list
Riad Slawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad and wonderful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here in December 2010 for a long weekend (I know, it's taken us a while to post this!) At first it was difficult to find Riad Slawi (as with everything in Marrakech!) but once we arrived we were delighted. The whole place is gorgeously decorated in a traditional Moroccan style. Rooms are spacious and beautiful, very comfortable and cool after a long day in the sun. Adam and his family were very helpful on everything and arranged trips, restaurants etc. and gave excellent advice - Adam was always there whenever we needed him (especially with mint tea and biscuits!) . It really felt like staying in someone's own home as special guests as we were so well looked after. The breakfast every morning was delicious and varied. If you visit Marrakech then you won't find a better place to stay than this.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    33
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
186
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Riad is really beautiful, the area charming, but the best is Adam, the owner.
He helps you in everything and runs his riad like a house. You don't feel just like a guest, you feel at home.
I correct myself...better than at home becouse at home nobody serves you breakfasts like the ones you have there.
I had a great weekend in Marrakesh and the riad helped to make it even better.
Superb!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This riad is perfectly located within walking distance of all the main attractions in Marrakech. The riad itself has everything you need from a fridge in the room to a relaxing roof top terrace. There are only four rooms so it really feels like home and intimate, and the decor is truly authentic. Make sure to have dinner at the riad at least once as the home cooked Tagine is to die for. I would recommend this riad to anyone especially to those travelling as a couple. The last thing to highlight, is the owner, Adam, really went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and to help us out with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The owner Adam could not be more friendly, he is originally from Canada so we had no communication problems. Adam suggested all the best places to go, including resturant/bars that serve alcohol (there is one just around the corner from the Riad in the Medina). The Riad itself has a relaxing roof top terrace where you can unwind.

If you want to see the real Morocco/Marrakech Medina (the bit within the walled city) you cant get a much more authentic location that this. Just a few minutes walk from the Souks (where you can buy all sorts of stuff - if shopping is your thing).

The breakfasts were excellent. Although I didnt eat Dinner at the Riad, the food was recommended by a couple who were staying.

The area of the Medina that this Riad is in doesnt really have a map that goes down to individual alleyway/street level. However Adam has drawn a helpful diagram so its relatively easy to find your way back from the big square "Place Jemaa El Fna". If you really cannot find your way then just ask a taxi for "Sidi Ben Slimane" they take you the end of the road, just keep on walking straight on through the Medina for <5 minutes and you get to the Riad.

If you have a car I am not sure where you are going to park it! but this would be a problem wherever you stay in any Medina (we had the same problem in Fes). I flew into Marrakech, Adam arranged a taxi and then a couple of days later another taxi to the car hire place (so parking wasnt a problem and taxis are cheap).

I recommend the Riad Slawi if you are looking for an authentic Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Riad Slawi is in the heart of the Medina in Marrakesh, and is a thoroughly renovated but authentic Moroccan Riad, with all necessary modern conveniences (wifi, room fridge, A/C, etc) as well as being a calm oasis just a short walk from the hustle of the Souk. It has a wonderful traditional central courtyard, and a shaded roof terrace in which to relax. Adam, the owner, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was freshly prepared, very filling, and very good. While staying there I met a mother & daughter on their their third stay at Riad Slawi. Following their example, when I return to the city, I will be sure to return to this Riad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This riad and its host (Mustapha, as Adam was on holiday) were a major factor in how much we enjoyed our visit to Morocco. From the moment we arrived at the riad, Mustapha was well spoken and polite. He gave us some guide books for Marrakech and Essaouria as well as a hand drawn map to the Djemaa El Fna and the Musee de Marrakech. On our first trip to the square he walked with us and showed us round with suggestions of where to eat as well as some basic survival tips for the medina.

We asked about a trip to the Ourika valley and he said he would call a guide who would pick us up at 8am and how much he would charge (a welcome break from haggling constantly!) On the day we were being shown the valley, he went to the bus station and bought us two return tickets to Essaouria (on our request) and indeed walked us to the correct bus stop the next morning. It is excellent having a local walking with you, especially if you are obviously not Moroccan!

He was a valuable source of information about pretty much anything you want to know about Marrakech and Morocco.

The riad itself was very peaceful with a nice rooftop terrace and courtyard. Our room was spacious with working A/C and a comfy bed. The shower seemed not to drain away until after your shower was finished, but it never got close to flooding and the rest of plumbing was fine, so it was never a problem. There was a fridge in the room which allowed you to store cold water.

Breakfast was always prompt and freshly cooked as well as delicious.

The only hitch we had with the riad was the arrival from the airport, which is hardly Riad Slawi's fault. I asked Adam for a taxi as I had seen reviews elsewhere saying the location was hard to find. I told Adam we were arriving on the 09:05 flight, but I can only presume that the driver had left by the time we had left departures (9:30) to get a higher fare.

In case you find yourself in a similar situation, I thought I'd describe how to get to the riad:
Get a taxi to Mosque Sidi Ben Slimane
With the school on your left and a mosque on your right, walk straight ahead until you enter an open area with an entrance to the Mosque Sidi Ben Slimane on the left.
Take the right hand exit in front of you and walk until there is a wall with 'AFIFI' written on it.
Turn left here and and continue walking round the mosque, through another open are with another door to the mosque on the left.
There is a road to the right diagonally, which you should take.
Keep walking straight past one archway and another road on the left. You should pass an angry looking water tap on your left.
The road turns right and then left under a dark archway
Keep walking through this and a yellow sign saying 'Riad Slawi' and directing you left is attached to a beam across the street.
RIad Slawi is the second door on the right.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at Riad Slawi for four days in August and found it to be a wonderful place to relax. It’s a beautiful clean and well maintained Raid that has a nice roof terrace to relax on and a light airy courtyard to have breakfast in. Our riad host Mustafa was wonderful. He guided to the square and took time out to help us navigate the Medina area. The riad can be tricky to find as the taxi can only take you so far. Then it’s a short walk to the riad. For this reason I would recommend contacting them before you get to Marrakech so that someone can meet you and walk you to the Riad A wonderful place at a great price. Many thanks to Mustafa for being a wonderful and helpful host. Thanks for a great stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Slawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.