We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad in the heart of Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Justo

Save Saved
You added Dar Justo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Justo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   35 derb Chorfa lakbir | mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad in the heart of Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Dar Justo is a lovely, chic blend of modern and tradition in the Medina, the heart of Marrakech. It is a bit hard to find (the Medina is a maze of ally ways), but we arranged for the hotel to send a taxi to pick us up from the station, and they sent someone to carry our bags and lead us to the riad when the taxi could not drive any further. Everything was very clean, beautifully decorated. We spent a couple hours at the spa (Le Bain Bleu) which was AMAZING!!! Best spa experience to date. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful. When we went out one night and didn't get back til 4 in the morning, we unexpectedly found ourselves locked out. But we called the manager from the number on their card (sorry for waking you up at such an ungodly hour!), and she had someone open the door for us. The food there was excellent, the staff was helpful and multi-lingual, and the price was really good for what we were getting. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first visit to Marrakech and what a pleasure it was to be staying in the heart of it all at Riad dar Justo, close enough to be a short walk from the souks and the busy square....yet go down a few streets and turn a few corners and hidden away in the quiet and calm was the riad.

The staff are kind, friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was simple but beautifully decorated in the typical Moroccan style.

As others have commented the breakfast was absolutely delicious, enjoyed up on the terrace with the Atlas Mountains visible in the distance over the rooftops.

I really couldn't fault the riad (nor could my mother who is good at that!!) and will certainly be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

There are so many reasons for staying at this riad - really quite but so central, brilliant terrace with comfortable sofas for enjoying the sun, excellent breakfasts. But the kindness of the staff is really special. On the second day of our stay in Marrakech I fell and sprained my ankle. When it was clear that it needed to be looked at the owner immediately arranged to take me and my daughter in her car to the polyclinic. She arranged for one of the staff to take me on the back of his motorbike through the medina to the car park (great fun even with injury), stayed with us at the clinic for around an hour and took us back again - with another moped ride. When we finally got back to the riad she arranged for lunch to be prepared for us and served in a quiet court yard. Really amazing, kind service. All the hotel staff asked after my ankle whenever they saw me.

There is a great spa next door, also owned by the hotel. The ankle binding meant I couldn't go in the Hammam but we had a lovely massage at very reasonable rate.

The location is really central but we were not woken by the early morning call to prayer (maybe something about the riad being so tucked away, definitely an asset).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were so excited about stayed at Riad dar Justo. Unfortunately, from almost the moment we arrived, we had our expectations shattered. We were led to the hotel by a local man who said he was employed by them to meet us and when we arrived it turned out he wasn't and wanted money. Fair enough - it's Morocco after all and we expected that kind of thing - but as we argued with the man that we only had a very small amount of money on us and tried to explain to the hotel reception staff what had happened, they just stood there saying "give him more money". No attempt to intervene or help at all.

To be fair, the riad is very clean and well maintained but there was no information in our room at all - nothing about what time breakfast or dinner was, nothing about how to use the safe, nothing about the facilities, nothing about breakfast - nothing at all. We asked at reception but with the exception of one lady, no one speaks a word of English, which made the stay very difficult.

The room was nice but very hot and dark. No external ventilation at all and the only window was the glass door, which meant a choice between no privacy or no light (there was a large wood shutter). There was a fan (we'd be advised it was air conditioned) but at night particularly the heat was almost unbearable.

Breakfast was very basic - just bread and jam. We tried to find out what was on the menu for dinner but as no one spoke English no one could tell us! It wasn't displayed anywhere. We chanced it and had a basic mean of salad, tagine and fruit. The tagine was very nice but the coffee never arrived and when we checked out we found we had been charged extra for a glass of beer and wine, even though we were led to believe this was included. Also, we were the only people in the entire hotel eating, which was a bit strange (although after the meal we worked out why!)

On the final day, we were leaving at 8am and had been told by the hotel breakfast would be served at 7.30. 7.30 came and went and we were told by the night porter (who was the only living soul we could find) that breakfast wouldn't be ready until 8.30, so we had to leave without anything to eat or drink, although we were charged for breakfast on that day! As no one can speak English, there was no point trying to argue the point. There was some confusion when we left over the taxi and again the hotel were no help at all. When a receptionist finally arrived she got someone on the phone who managed to say "Your taxi is not our hotel's problem" before hanging up.

We only stayed two nights (thankfully) and it's such a shame as it is a tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but the service was absolutely atrocious. If you're looking for a very hot room with no light and nothing else then great but if you don't speak French or if you're expecting anything remotely resembling service, steer well clear!

Incidentally, we booked through the UK company BEST OF MOROCCO, who's customer service almost equalled Dar Justo in terms of breathtaking incompetence! Give them a miss too!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebainbleu, Gerente at Dar Justo, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
First of all let us tell you that we are very sorry that your stay at Dar Justo was so disappointed.
Our reception team and the director do speak English, maybe not on an advance level, but enough to communicate with our clients as we have been doing so for more than 10 years and receiving people from all around the world. It's also disappointing for us when some of our clients can not communicate fluency.

A Riad experience is very different from a hotel experience. A Riad is a traditional house more casual and closer approach to the people than a regular hotel. Explanations about timetables, internal use of the safety fox, tv, and so we do it personally more than information panels on the elevators and so. It is true that by night there is only one night guardian taking care of the riad , but this is enough to give the service by night , although there were 6 more rooms occupied at the same time that your stay.
Sorry again for this convenience but the approach and flexibility is significantly different comparing with an standard hotel.

Dar Justo is respectful with the environment and the heating and cooling system is based on a solar system, by giving heat or cool on the floor. It is not a air conditioned system but is a much more comfortable system. Apparently in your room was not connected or there was something wrong , sorry again, but for sure if you should let us know we should have changed your room immediately.

And finally about our breakfast .... We do serve an standard and plentiful breakfast with not just bread and jam but also coffee, milk, tea, chocolate, orange juice, fruit salad, cheese and a different home made pastry every day.
In fact one of our strengths points, if you read other Tripadvisor’s comments, is always the nice breakfast on then terrace and all team focused on trying that our guests have a nice experience in Dar Justo as a something special and different.

Breakfast time starts at 8 in the morning but very often clients leave earlier or just go for an excursion and we do prepare before this time.

I'm affraid you and Dar Justo's team had a serious problem of communication since your arrival and made you feel more and more frustrating which was not at all on our mission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this great Riad after Easter and could not have chosen better - beautiful rooms, fantastic terrace; wonderful, kind service. The adjacent spa is a huge bonus. We will return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Imaging this! You are in the middle of hustling and bustling of Medina, but after you entered Dar Justo, you immediately find tranquility and felt you are in a different world.

The court yard, hallway, terrace and room are tastefully decorated. You can sit in the comfortable chair at the terrace and enjoy your mint tea.

On site hammam and spa are excellent with reasonable price. Front desk staffs are courteous and you can truly enjoy authentic Moroccan style hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a beautiful oasis away from the heat and hassle of the souk, but still only a stone's throw away. Excellent, friendly service with a real family-run, personal feel. A lovely base, especially for a couple.
We travelled with two young boys, aged nine and 11 and they fitted in well; but this is perhaps not an ideal hotel if you have youngsters who want to let off a bit of steam. The pool is delightful, but is more for cooling off than swimming, being shallow and small. Having said this, so long as you have well-behaved children and are sensitive to other guests, you should have no problem.
Superb breakfast of pancakes, fruit salad, yoghurt, cake, bread, fresh juice and copious amounts of coffee.
The hotel is also very helpful in organising trips much less expensively than we'd seen advertised elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Justo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Justo

Address: 35 derb Chorfa lakbir | mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Justo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Justo la magia y el silencio en la Medina de MarrakechDar Justo es una antigua casa tradicional que data del siglo XIV reconstruida y decorada con un sabio equilibrio entre tradición, originalidad y modernidad por su propietario, el artista Justo Almendros. Está en un entorno tranquilo en el barrio del Mouassine , a pocos pasos de la famosa plaza Jemaa el-Fna, patrimonio oral de la humanidad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Justo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Justo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.