We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, tranquil hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Justo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar Justo to your Saves list
Dar Justo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   35 derb Chorfa lakbir | mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent, tranquil hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a beautiful oasis away from the heat and hassle of the souk, but still only a stone's throw away. Excellent, friendly service with a real family-run, personal feel. A lovely base, especially for a couple.
We travelled with two young boys, aged nine and 11 and they fitted in well; but this is perhaps not an ideal hotel if you have youngsters who want to let off a bit of steam. The pool is delightful, but is more for cooling off than swimming, being shallow and small. Having said this, so long as you have well-behaved children and are sensitive to other guests, you should have no problem.
Superb breakfast of pancakes, fruit salad, yoghurt, cake, bread, fresh juice and copious amounts of coffee.
The hotel is also very helpful in organising trips much less expensively than we'd seen advertised elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were 13 couples wanting to have a 1 night Riad experience. This was very difficult to find because Riads only have 6 to 9 rooms and don't accept people for 1 night. Dar Justo is an hotel made of 3 Riads where this was possible. Very tastefull and they do have a wonderfull spa

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights recently as part of a week long trip in Morocco. This riad is well designed throughout - the rooms, communal areas and roof terrace all look great. We had a suite which contained a mezzanine level with a double mattress on it. This room is probably best suited to families or groups as being a couple we had no use for the extra space on the top level which only had a bed. Loved the location of this property, it was very close to the square and all the action but yet very peaceful and quiet.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with complimentary water, a safe, tv and hairdryer. However there were a few minor gripes as I found the room quite dark overall with little natural light and the bathroom was the same. I guess that's to be expected in these type of old buildings but some stronger lighting in the bathroom would've been good. The shower mounting in the bathroom was also broken so you had to hold the shower head all the time and there was no proper bin (just a minuscule basket).

Breakfast was great, very filling, fresh and tasty. We also tried the reflexology, hammam and massage in Les Bains Bleu which is next door (and part of the riad) and the treatments & service was very good. The staff at the riad were helpful when you asked for assistance but compared to the other places we stayed on this trip there was some warmth and interaction lacking. Maybe it's because this is a much larger place than your typical riad that this element is lost and if we'd only stayed here and not had other places to compare to we'd probably not have commented on this. All in all though I was very pleased and would stay here again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We have booked into a nearby hotel for 3 nights, a recommended and nice enough Riad in the heart of Marrakesh Medina. We knew that they had a problem with the first night, and rebooked us for that night into Dar Justo. What a pleasant surprise. We just arrived from a superb place in the Atlas mountains, so were a bit spoiled. Justo is difficult to find, at the end of a typical, at first spooky Marrakesh alleyway. But when you get there, you find a classy, clean and well kept hotel with great photos everywhere, good satellite TV, large and comfortable suite, all in modern Morrocan style. And you pay less than in many other similar hotels. Staff were very friendly, but if you speak a bit of French, you will get even more out of your stay. Whilst at Dar Justo, make sure that you visit the adjacent (and probably under the same ownership) hammam, Le Bain Bleu; a great experience not just for ladies but for blokes as well!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have just come home from Dar Justo and cannot put into words how special our trip was. The souks and square, kasbar and streets are quite MAD but returning to this great Riad, only a few minutes walk from all the madness, is a total treat. The rooms are so pretty and clean and the staff are some of the kindest people we have ever met abroad, anywhere. I would recommend you STOP YOUR SEARCH and book this hotel now. We will be back! Thank you so much to all at Dar Justo! Oh - forget the New Town - stay in the walls of the Medina, although a lunch at the Marmounia was an EXPENSIVE treat!

Room Tip: Any of these rooms would be a luxurious treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Dar Justo is a good hotel well located in the old city of Marrakech. It is hard to find, but if you arrive from the airport, the taxi will let you at the entrance of the old city. From there, you can pay 50 DH to a porter and he will guide you there and carry your luggage. You will go through a maze of small streets, do not worry the hotel is worth it. The hotel has excellent service, a small pool, a good terrace, and also offers excellent massage. All this at an affordable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our family of 4 is used to travel all over the world for holidays.
In few places all over the world we have found a boutique hotel as charming as the "Dar Justo" at Marrakech, Morocco.

Every room is different and unique. We where lucky to enjoy the Garcia Lorca room, and it was delicious.
The hotel is perfectly located close to the main spots and attractions. The staff is very helpful and family friendly and they speak good English.
The food is delicious and most of the days we had our dinner there, enjoying an excellent mix of local and international specialities.

To relax from the city tour, my wife and I used the "Hamman" traditional arabic bath. We strongly recommend it!

Being a family concerned about the environmental issues we were glad to know that all the electrical and water facilities where managed on an ecological way.

Room Tip: Every room is different and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Justo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Justo

Address: 35 derb Chorfa lakbir | mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Justo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Justo la magia y el silencio en la Medina de MarrakechDar Justo es una antigua casa tradicional que data del siglo XIV reconstruida y decorada con un sabio equilibrio entre tradición, originalidad y modernidad por su propietario, el artista Justo Almendros. Está en un entorno tranquilo en el barrio del Mouassine , a pocos pasos de la famosa plaza Jemaa el-Fna, patrimonio oral de la humanidad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Justo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Justo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.