We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky diversion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Justo

Save Saved
You added Dar Justo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Justo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   35 derb Chorfa lakbir | mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lucky diversion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We have booked into a nearby hotel for 3 nights, a recommended and nice enough Riad in the heart of Marrakesh Medina. We knew that they had a problem with the first night, and rebooked us for that night into Dar Justo. What a pleasant surprise. We just arrived from a superb place in the Atlas mountains, so were a bit spoiled. Justo is difficult to find, at the end of a typical, at first spooky Marrakesh alleyway. But when you get there, you find a classy, clean and well kept hotel with great photos everywhere, good satellite TV, large and comfortable suite, all in modern Morrocan style. And you pay less than in many other similar hotels. Staff were very friendly, but if you speak a bit of French, you will get even more out of your stay. Whilst at Dar Justo, make sure that you visit the adjacent (and probably under the same ownership) hammam, Le Bain Bleu; a great experience not just for ladies but for blokes as well!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have just come home from Dar Justo and cannot put into words how special our trip was. The souks and square, kasbar and streets are quite MAD but returning to this great Riad, only a few minutes walk from all the madness, is a total treat. The rooms are so pretty and clean and the staff are some of the kindest people we have ever met abroad, anywhere. I would recommend you STOP YOUR SEARCH and book this hotel now. We will be back! Thank you so much to all at Dar Justo! Oh - forget the New Town - stay in the walls of the Medina, although a lunch at the Marmounia was an EXPENSIVE treat!

Room Tip: Any of these rooms would be a luxurious treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Dar Justo is a good hotel well located in the old city of Marrakech. It is hard to find, but if you arrive from the airport, the taxi will let you at the entrance of the old city. From there, you can pay 50 DH to a porter and he will guide you there and carry your luggage. You will go through a maze of small streets, do not worry the hotel is worth it. The hotel has excellent service, a small pool, a good terrace, and also offers excellent massage. All this at an affordable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our family of 4 is used to travel all over the world for holidays.
In few places all over the world we have found a boutique hotel as charming as the "Dar Justo" at Marrakech, Morocco.

Every room is different and unique. We where lucky to enjoy the Garcia Lorca room, and it was delicious.
The hotel is perfectly located close to the main spots and attractions. The staff is very helpful and family friendly and they speak good English.
The food is delicious and most of the days we had our dinner there, enjoying an excellent mix of local and international specialities.

To relax from the city tour, my wife and I used the "Hamman" traditional arabic bath. We strongly recommend it!

Being a family concerned about the environmental issues we were glad to know that all the electrical and water facilities where managed on an ecological way.

Room Tip: Every room is different and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardedeu, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I do not have words to explain how good was our stay in this hotel. Very clean, charmful. Placed just closed to the most important and historical place, you can have fun and rest at the sale time. Ideal to go with children. Important to remark how nice is also people attending it. For sure we will come again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Some friends recommended a RIAD… Dar Justo located within the medina of Marrakech. I entered their website and I did not hesitate to reserve a week. The reality of the place in person, was even better that the representation in the page on internet.

Travelling and leaving behind western culture in just a few hours is a great exercise. The mind relaxes and refreshes itself and one sets worries aside. Marrakech is like a great amusement park. The great souk of craftsmen is a perfect place to loose oneself each dia, with the challenge of locating and living an adventure: The different types of people, multiple colors, the scent of the spices, the hands of the craftsmen, and the bargaining.

There was no better context for that adventure, than to have chosen RIAD Dar Justo for our stay on this special occasion

Not only was our stay at Dar Justo comfortable, I also want to descibe some relevant details.

The excellent architectural renovation is structured around courtyards that are read in parts, just like the culture. Little by little one discovers things. The day just before returning home, I came upon a new courtyard with a beautiful reflecting pool.

The terraces are the best places for the arrival and for breakfast in the morning . From there the city waking up is on view, with a skyline to the the mountains in the distance. I had a delicious dinner in a friendly atmosphere there, as if it was my own house, with a visit to the souk, the medina and the city at night.

Various interconnected terraces around the courtyards are the best places, to rest and relax, with birds flittering about. It is perfect for reading a book, only to be interrupted by the calls to the faithful of the mosques.
The spacious bedrooms are illuminated by the quiet patios.

Beautifully chosen furnishings, selected by a sensitve knowledgeable and multi talented personality: an artist, photographer, painter and sculptor.

The cotton bed linens were comfortable enough to be able loose oneself in dreams. Generous and simple bathrooms, with cement bathtubs, finished with ceramics and each singularly designed.


The infrastructures are sustainable. The water is recycled and rain water is harvested. The bathwater and spa of the Riad have hotwater supplied from large surfaces of solar panels that store energy.

The Amman, is spectacular and worth knowing for an aromatic bath.

The carefully selected crafts in all of the Riad, at every level from the breakfast trays, to the cous cous plates, the ceramics in the courtyards, the baths, the windows, doors, curtains, etc.

A short trip that seemed as if it had been very long, given all the things we did and saw and the new experiences.

Finally it is important to underscore, just how comfortable RIAD Dar Justo was, how hospitable the services were. They were open to helping us with every question and issue, from the arrival, where they waited for us at the airport. They made dinner reservations for us at restaurants, they organized taxis and offered suggestions for sites to visit, places to shop and gifts.

We made special itineraries: a daytrip to Essaouira, guided visits by friends of the RIAD with special knowledge of the sites, special places, historic sites and stories that are not written, visits to special crafts shops that export, special places of the local intellectuals, etc.

“a trip with my brother”

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

In the back streets of Marrakech this beautiful riad is an oasis of peace but only 3 minutes walk to the main square. The staff is immaculate and the rooms are gorgeous. Space, clean, no noise whatsoever, not even the mosque early morning.
We had some trouble with the heating that wouldn't go off but we were offered an other room so all was sorted out.
The in-house hammam was a real treat after a day walking in the souk.
All this doesn't come cheap but it is worth it. (reception speaks at least French, English and Spanish)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Justo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Justo

Address: 35 derb Chorfa lakbir | mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Justo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Justo la magia y el silencio en la Medina de MarrakechDar Justo es una antigua casa tradicional que data del siglo XIV reconstruida y decorada con un sabio equilibrio entre tradición, originalidad y modernidad por su propietario, el artista Justo Almendros. Está en un entorno tranquilo en el barrio del Mouassine , a pocos pasos de la famosa plaza Jemaa el-Fna, patrimonio oral de la humanidad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Justo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Justo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.