We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous Riad loved our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maizie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Maizie
Save Saved
You added Riad Maizie to your Saves list
95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #543 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fabulous Riad loved our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at Riad Maizie for 3 nights early December for my 40th birthday. We can only confirm the postive reviews so far. Very helpful staff, without being over the top or in your face, couldn't have asked for more. We even received an email from owner whilst waiting for our flight in UK to ask if we would like evening meal due to our late arrival in Marrakesh, and the meal provided was delicious.
Would recommend this place and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

My friend and I travelled to Morocco and chose Riad Maizie after reading the book (by the owner) on the purchase and renovation of the riad. We had a lovley time, with Dan the owner there during our stay. You need to be relaxed as it all happens in Moroccan time, but it does happen! The rooms are simply gorgeous...not over the top, but amazing Moroccan features and very very comfortable and for the price, fantastic. The breakfast is absolutley lovely and i HIGHLY recommend eating in at least one night...the ladies cook up a feast. I actualy found the food in Marrakech to be quite disappointing, but the ladies in Maizie can truly cook!! I would definitley recommend others to stay at Maizie, and of course to eat there! I stayed in the Doueria....very private with the only noise coming from the birds in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Not much I can say about this Riad and it's staff that hasn't already been said on here but I can confirm all the fantastic positive reviews already posted.
My friend and I were lucky enough to visit Riad Maizie for a week in April 2010. This heavenly haven from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech is just what you need to relax and truely experience Morocco. The staff, Abdel and his sisters Amal and Nezah, could not do enough to help during our visit. The food was exceptional and i would recommend eating an authentic Moroccan meal cooked by them at the Riad one evening. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Chill out on the terrace with good food and good conversation - what else could you ask for!!! The rooms are simply beautiful. I hope one day to be able to return to what was an amazing home in an amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

What can I add to all the other reviews? I totally agree with all the earlier reviews, but also want to add that the sympathy, company, hospitality and helpfulness of the owner, Dan Pearce, and his staff, meant that I actually enjoyed the experience of having my passport stolen in the souk and my return to the UK delayed by two days. Fortunately I was able to extend my stay in the beautifully and traditionally restored riad, and set up my 'office' in the cool and calming courtyard, with all the necessary documents and my phone, sustained by endless cups of team, while my life return to normal. It was an ideal place from which to get to know the souks and the heart of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This place is truely amazing! Had a fantastic 3 days in Marrakech and didn't want to leave!
Thanks Dan and to everyone for making it a holiday to remember!
Lisa and Charley

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Hidden like a labyrinth beyond the mystic walls of the medina's of Marrakesh, lies a hidden jewell in itself, "Riad Maizie"!
Once inside this beautiful romantic riad, you fall completely under it's spell and are over whelmed by it's natural charm.
With the Intoxicating scents of the orange trees,and the faint sounds of Andrea Bocelli echoing through the wind, when i arrived at this haven and climbed to the top of it's beautiful roof terrace and caught sight of the Atlas mountains, i knew i had truly arrived!
On arrival to the riad, i was greeted by it's owner, the charming artist Dan Pierce, who's warmth and hospitable nature in itself was excuse enough for me to return to "Riad Maizie" time and time again.
My holiday is now over, but i know i will never forget it,as a lttle bit of Marrakesh, and my time at "Riad Maizie" will always remain in my soul!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

so happy that we landed here to enjoy not only the beauty of the restored, traditional riad, but also the wonderful conversation with our hosts Dan, Abdel-Ilah, Abdellatif, and the lovely ladies who made our scrumptious Moroccan tajine dinner. located within a 2-minute walk from the magic souk, riad maizie is within easy walking distance to most anywhere in the city, and Dan will have helpful advice should you choose to depart Marrakech for some side trips.

we spent several evenings relaxing with Dan and other guests in the riad living room, listening to live music played by Dan's musician friend Abdel-Latif and absorbing the warmth of the fireplace while eating oranges, dates and almonds that Dan graciously shares with his guests.

i wish i could find a guesthouse of this nature in every city i travel!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Maizie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maizie

Address: 95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maizie is a traditional Morroccan Riad, lovingly restored by the writer Miranda Innes, which offers a tranquil and stunning base for your explorations of amazing Marrakech. Only five-minutes walk from the souks and ten from the wonders of Djemaa el Fna. Soak in the warm north-African sun up on the roof terrace, cool down by the fountain in the courtyard and eat some of the best tagine Marrakech has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maizie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.