We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly AMAZING stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maizie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Maizie
Save Saved
You added Riad Maizie to your Saves list
95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #543 of 1,047 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A truly AMAZING stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Me, my mum and sister stayed in Riad Maizie for four nights in April over the Easter weekend and our stay could not have been better! Communication was fantastic throughout whole booking process. The Riad itself is so beautiful- with the most amazing courtyard and terrace. It is so close to everything and although it is in the Medina itself- it was such a relaxing and tranquil place to come back to after the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

It really felt like a home away from home. Miranda wasn't there but her son Will took great care of us. We stayed in the sunny green room which was perfect for the three of us. Will was such a great host- he arranged airport pick up for us, made us wonderful breakfasts that we we enjoyed on the rooftop terrace each morning and was a great source of info for local restaurants etc. On our last night he made us a delicious Tangia (which I would deff recommend!). Will is such a lovely person and we thoroughly enjoyed our chats and stay with him.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for the second time at the end of February. Service included being collected and returned to the airport. This is really helpful as would be dfficult to find otherwise. Will was his usual friendly helpful self which helps make the stay even more enjoyable. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We travelled as a small group and had the whole beautifully restaured riad to ourselves. We found it difficult to get warm at night as temperatures around New Year went down to +3 and only 2 out of 4 heaters worked. It should also be mentioned that there are many cats around the property which is important to know for allergy sufferers. Having said the the location and company were next to none, and the coffee great!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isambard76, Manager at Riad Maizie, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you Marianne for your wonderful review, we have taken your comments seriously and we have bought new heaters to replace the old ones.
I always make sure that the cats have no access to guests rooms and the door to the rooms on the 1st floor is always kept closed.
Thank you again for your review.

Will Woods
Riad Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a fantastic way to spend Christmas in the sunny Marrakech!!! Will is a great host and real joy to chat with.... not the mention a GREAT cook!!! I would definitely recommend a visit to this beautiful hidden gem ...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here in April with our two children (aged 6 and 9) and it was perfect for us - small, welcoming, friendly. We had the first floor to ourselves, loads of room and our own balcony. Also used the lovely roof terrace a lot, great for breakfast.
Will, the manager, was unfailingly helpful and very relaxed and made the best coffee we had in Morocco.
Great location in the medina (but impossible to find the first time without help) and surprisingly peaceful.
Particularly loved the sense of faded glory and all the wonderful architectural details, a treasure for those who love old buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay at Riad Maizie with my sister. The pink room with its twin beds was perfect - a private bathroom with shower being just across the landing. Situated in the labyrinth that is the Medina it is truly advisible to get collected at the airport - I would defy anyone to find it unassisted.
Will, the manager took us to the Djemaa El Fna square so that we could orient ourselves and find our way back!
We were disappointed with the chicken, olive and preserved lemon tagine that we sampled in a local restaurant, so Will cooked for us on our last night. It was the best meal we had the whole holiday.
Breakfast at Riad Maizie will set you up for the day with its freshly made pancakes, eggs cooked whichever way you like, freshly squeezed orange juice, french bread and a selection of jams and butter. Freshly ground coffee served at whatever strength you like - perfect start to the day.
Riad Maizie is very reasonably priced at only 59 euros a night for the twin room including breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style with hand painted furniture. The courtyards and outdoor seating areas provide lots of space for relaxing after a hectic day haggling in the souk.
Marrakech is an incredible city and Riad Maizie is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in Riad Maizie with five friends in Nov 2010 and our stay was excellent. I have just returned from another stay in a different Riad chosen by my partner as a special birthday treat and now I have something to compare it with!

Riad Maizie has an enormous and really beautiful, well laid out roof garden and terraces that were abundant with well loved lush plants and flowers. We loved all the exterior spaces in the Riad, as we did the internal. But if either isn’t right then it can make a big difference to your holiday as you naturally spend a lot of time outdoors.

The breakfasts were delicious: tea and coffee were served in tradition Moroccan tea and coffee pots, fresh orange juice, an abundance of Moroccan pancakes, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, various cheeses, and the scrambled eggs where simply divine, and plenty of French bread should you wish. You also had the choice of a myriad of herbal teas and speciality teas including Earl Grey.
The Riad Maizie staff Hisham, Amal and Neza could not have made us feel more comfortable or welcome, they all used their initiative and anticipated our every need.

The only thing I did not like was there was no running water in any of the fountains at the time! On the first floor of the Riad is a very spacious terrace in front of the Pink Room which was great for relaxing and partying!!!

This Riad is in the South Medina and is better maintained than the North Medina, cleaner and feels safer, although you are safe in either.

I cannot recommend Riad Maizie highly enough after spending a week in another Riad that is in the Top 50 Marrakech Riad list on Trip Advisor. I also cannot understand why Riad Maizie ranks only #485! If you want to be well looked after and have a really special holiday in Marrakech then STAY at Riad Maizie.

Room Tip: We hired the whole Riad for a week and all the rooms were great but my favourites were the Doueria a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Maizie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maizie

Address: 95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maizie is a traditional Morroccan Riad, lovingly restored by the writer Miranda Innes, which offers a tranquil and stunning base for your explorations of amazing Marrakech. Only five-minutes walk from the souks and ten from the wonders of Djemaa el Fna. Soak in the warm north-African sun up on the roof terrace, cool down by the fountain in the courtyard and eat some of the best tagine Marrakech has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maizie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.