We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Maizie a perfect place to relax and unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maizie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Maizie
Save Saved
You added Riad Maizie to your Saves list
95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #543 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Swansea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Riad Maizie a perfect place to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay at Riad Maizie with my sister. The pink room with its twin beds was perfect - a private bathroom with shower being just across the landing. Situated in the labyrinth that is the Medina it is truly advisible to get collected at the airport - I would defy anyone to find it unassisted.
Will, the manager took us to the Djemaa El Fna square so that we could orient ourselves and find our way back!
We were disappointed with the chicken, olive and preserved lemon tagine that we sampled in a local restaurant, so Will cooked for us on our last night. It was the best meal we had the whole holiday.
Breakfast at Riad Maizie will set you up for the day with its freshly made pancakes, eggs cooked whichever way you like, freshly squeezed orange juice, french bread and a selection of jams and butter. Freshly ground coffee served at whatever strength you like - perfect start to the day.
Riad Maizie is very reasonably priced at only 59 euros a night for the twin room including breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style with hand painted furniture. The courtyards and outdoor seating areas provide lots of space for relaxing after a hectic day haggling in the souk.
Marrakech is an incredible city and Riad Maizie is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in Riad Maizie with five friends in Nov 2010 and our stay was excellent. I have just returned from another stay in a different Riad chosen by my partner as a special birthday treat and now I have something to compare it with!

Riad Maizie has an enormous and really beautiful, well laid out roof garden and terraces that were abundant with well loved lush plants and flowers. We loved all the exterior spaces in the Riad, as we did the internal. But if either isn’t right then it can make a big difference to your holiday as you naturally spend a lot of time outdoors.

The breakfasts were delicious: tea and coffee were served in tradition Moroccan tea and coffee pots, fresh orange juice, an abundance of Moroccan pancakes, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, various cheeses, and the scrambled eggs where simply divine, and plenty of French bread should you wish. You also had the choice of a myriad of herbal teas and speciality teas including Earl Grey.
The Riad Maizie staff Hisham, Amal and Neza could not have made us feel more comfortable or welcome, they all used their initiative and anticipated our every need.

The only thing I did not like was there was no running water in any of the fountains at the time! On the first floor of the Riad is a very spacious terrace in front of the Pink Room which was great for relaxing and partying!!!

This Riad is in the South Medina and is better maintained than the North Medina, cleaner and feels safer, although you are safe in either.

I cannot recommend Riad Maizie highly enough after spending a week in another Riad that is in the Top 50 Marrakech Riad list on Trip Advisor. I also cannot understand why Riad Maizie ranks only #485! If you want to be well looked after and have a really special holiday in Marrakech then STAY at Riad Maizie.

Room Tip: We hired the whole Riad for a week and all the rooms were great but my favourites were the Doueria a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We only found this Riad whilst reading Cinnamon City by Miranda Innes in Essaouria so it was serendipity that we should have had the pleasure of staying for one night in the Doueria.

Will was an amazingly welcoming host and made our life easy from the time that we arrived at the Supratours terminal to our departure at the airport.

The breakfast was fantastic and we particularly enjoyed the fresh squeezed juices.

Our room was comfortable and we loved the linen sheets!

We managed to relax for a short while on the roof terrace in both the sun and shade surrounded by beautiful plants, a little haven.

Many thanks for ensuring we had a great stay, we would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Where do i begin??

Not only is the Riad beautiful but the hosts are just as wonderful. The location of the Riad is right in the heart of this city, a 5 minute walk through the souks and you're slap bang in the middle of the square where the night comes alive with everything!!! Ive stayed there twice now and its as endearing as always.......Beautiful rooms, Stunning Roof terrace where good food is served up in the mornings and lunch and dinner is also served if needed......The house sitters are truelly amazing and inventive in the kitchen!!!.........Looking forward to Returning x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed at Riad Maizie earlier this month with my boyfriend for 3 nights. We stayed in the Doueria room which was beautiful (a/c a cool relief!), lovely bathroom, just what we wanted. Will was so nice and welcoming, and shows every guest upon arrival how to get to the Jemaa Fna (so you dont get lost!) - he took us through the souks and shared his knowledge with us, which was greatly appreciated. Food was delicious, breakfast was very good (wonderful pancakes) and one evening we enjoyed dinner on the terrace. Very good value for money and just what we wanted (don't miss the lamb with prunes and almonds!) Overall, great location, beautiful roof terrace, wonderful staff and owners, great food and just what we wanted on a short trip to the beautiful city of Marrakesh :)

Room Tip: The Doueria suite had a/c, its own access to the terrace and a bathtub to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great staff Great breakfast Great views from the rooftop.
Unfortunately didn't get to meet the owners but our hosts were just perfect.
I'd recommend getting a pre booked taxi as I doubt I would have found the place otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The upstairs rooms were fine, but the 2 rooms downstairs were not up to the mark. no AC in all rooms. the downstairs room AC was not great. the staff were very polite and obliging. breakfast average.this riad is meant for backpackers and young couple. long walk from the square to get to this riad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leovw, Public Relations Manager at Riad Maizie, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for your input but please note:

1 - We clearly state on our website the rooms with and without AC.

2 - The majority of people who stay in our Riad are very complementary about our traditional Moroccan breakfasts.

3 - The Riad is in no way intended for backpackers and young people (although they are welcome), our clientele vary from young families to retired couples. We offer a tranquil glimpse of traditional Moroccan Riad life.

4 - As stated all over our website it is a 10 minute walk to the square and 5 minutes to the main souks.

Also I would like to say having looked at all your other reviews - You seem to be able to find fault where others find happiness. I am sorry your experiences fall short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Maizie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maizie

Address: 95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maizie is a traditional Morroccan Riad, lovingly restored by the writer Miranda Innes, which offers a tranquil and stunning base for your explorations of amazing Marrakech. Only five-minutes walk from the souks and ten from the wonders of Djemaa el Fna. Soak in the warm north-African sun up on the roof terrace, cool down by the fountain in the courtyard and eat some of the best tagine Marrakech has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maizie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.