We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maizie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Maizie
95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #528 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Where do i begin??

Not only is the Riad beautiful but the hosts are just as wonderful. The location of the Riad is right in the heart of this city, a 5 minute walk through the souks and you're slap bang in the middle of the square where the night comes alive with everything!!! Ive stayed there twice now and its as endearing as always.......Beautiful rooms, Stunning Roof terrace where good food is served up in the mornings and lunch and dinner is also served if needed......The house sitters are truelly amazing and inventive in the kitchen!!!.........Looking forward to Returning x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed at Riad Maizie earlier this month with my boyfriend for 3 nights. We stayed in the Doueria room which was beautiful (a/c a cool relief!), lovely bathroom, just what we wanted. Will was so nice and welcoming, and shows every guest upon arrival how to get to the Jemaa Fna (so you dont get lost!) - he took us through the souks and shared his knowledge with us, which was greatly appreciated. Food was delicious, breakfast was very good (wonderful pancakes) and one evening we enjoyed dinner on the terrace. Very good value for money and just what we wanted (don't miss the lamb with prunes and almonds!) Overall, great location, beautiful roof terrace, wonderful staff and owners, great food and just what we wanted on a short trip to the beautiful city of Marrakesh :)

Room Tip: The Doueria suite had a/c, its own access to the terrace and a bathtub to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great staff Great breakfast Great views from the rooftop.
Unfortunately didn't get to meet the owners but our hosts were just perfect.
I'd recommend getting a pre booked taxi as I doubt I would have found the place otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The upstairs rooms were fine, but the 2 rooms downstairs were not up to the mark. no AC in all rooms. the downstairs room AC was not great. the staff were very polite and obliging. breakfast average.this riad is meant for backpackers and young couple. long walk from the square to get to this riad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leovw, Public Relations Manager at Riad Maizie, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for your input but please note:

1 - We clearly state on our website the rooms with and without AC.

2 - The majority of people who stay in our Riad are very complementary about our traditional Moroccan breakfasts.

3 - The Riad is in no way intended for backpackers and young people (although they are welcome), our clientele vary from young families to retired couples. We offer a tranquil glimpse of traditional Moroccan Riad life.

4 - As stated all over our website it is a 10 minute walk to the square and 5 minutes to the main souks.

Also I would like to say having looked at all your other reviews - You seem to be able to find fault where others find happiness. I am sorry your experiences fall short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Riad Maizie very recently 27th March to 3 April 2011. We were made thoroughly welcome. Even on the evening of our arrival there was a wonderful meal prepared for us. A caring forethought on the part of Will our host at the Riad. Breakfasts on the roof were sublime even down to how you prefered your eggs. They were always exactly right. Evenings in the courtyard were a happening in their own right! Obviously the staff take great pride in making your stay as perfect as they can. We learnt a lot about an enticing country and wonderful, thoughtful people too. We will defintly be returning.

Room Tip: Great value for money, authentic, and hospitable,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Riad Maizie is a lovely place to stay-especially if you're looking for something authentically Moroccan. It's beautifuly decorated-a lot of effort went in to the restoration. The owners Will and Miranda and staff Amal, Nezha and Hicham have created a warm and safe environment for the guests. All the food is prepared fresh everyday by Amal and Nezha and is delicious. I spent four days at the Riad on a yoga retreat run by Miranda, which was very enjoyable as I had not practiced yoga before. I am looking forward to going back to the Riad on my next visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at Riad Maizie for 3 nights early December for my 40th birthday. We can only confirm the postive reviews so far. Very helpful staff, without being over the top or in your face, couldn't have asked for more. We even received an email from owner whilst waiting for our flight in UK to ask if we would like evening meal due to our late arrival in Marrakesh, and the meal provided was delicious.
Would recommend this place and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Maizie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maizie

Address: 95 Derb el Cadi | Azbezt, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maizie is a traditional Morroccan Riad, lovingly restored by the writer Miranda Innes, which offers a tranquil and stunning base for your explorations of amazing Marrakech. Only five-minutes walk from the souks and ten from the wonders of Djemaa el Fna. Soak in the warm north-African sun up on the roof terrace, cool down by the fountain in the courtyard and eat some of the best tagine Marrakech has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maizie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Maizie to your Saves list