We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice hotel but very far out so plan ahead...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort & Spa
Melk Dahman Rehamena Sud Lieu | Dit Zaouiat Ben sassi cercle el bour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Nice hotel but very far out so plan ahead...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was a luvly hotel althouth one of the pools was a bit mucky at times. The hotel was very far out of town, about 25-35mins drive so on the way there we did feel a bit stranded and lost but once you get there it's like a little haven.

Food was nice but just a set all you could eat buffet which can get boring and to get into town to eat elsewhere was a hike. The buffet was about £15 per head for breakfast or dinner or lunch so as you could imagine this could add up over the space of a week So I'd suggest trying to get an all inclusive deal if possible. We found out on the last day you could ask for a sandwich.. which was about £4 but massive so wish we'd done this earliyer. We also started just taking our meals to our rooms some nights and just getting one meal and sharing it. which saved money. There was a free bus into town but only at certain times and other times were 150baht. The staff were nice and helpfull and the rooms were clean. Staff can plan trips for you but one of them tried to rip us off so be carefull and ask around. The manager was a nice wee man so maybe ask him.

The rooms were HUGE and really luxurios seeming..although little bugs were crawling about when we got in..if you blast the aircon they disapear (I think bugs is a given in Moroco wherever you are)

Also the massages are a bit rubbish so i'd suggest giving them a miss.

Everyone speaks french in Marrakech so theres no point trying to learn morrocan, I tried as I thought it was nice to try..but if everyone spoke french back at me :-) maybe just learning hello goodbye and NO THANKYOU is enough in morrocan.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

The ride from the airport is long - and some of the way is on unpaved roads. It seems as though you are in the middle of nowhere, but it is heaven, and , in reality, is only a welcome half hour outside of town.

The hotel is an oasis of calm, cocoa colored adobe type buildings (riads and villas), nicely spread out around a pool. Very quiet and relaxing. It is not for those who want to be in the center of the action, but for someone who wants complete relaxation after a day in the frenzy of Marrahech.

I would stay here again if I had more time. Food was excellent. Room was huge. Could have had a party in the bathtub alone. Can't beat this for the price! We paid around $54USD for a night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My colleague reserved it because of the pictures without checking anything else and this tells it all – oasis in the desert, probably old olive grove, far away from the city – I really wonder how do people without car manage, you are totally on mercy of other people then, even with your own car I will think twice before going there again – it showed me how little I know about hotel business, because why they built it there is a complete mystery to me * really smart design * not very smart staff * dirty pool, with fauna and flora, which I hope is not too dangerous because I swam in it * good kitchen, both for breakfast and dinner

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

my partner and I went to Morocco for 7 nights, and stayed here and it was one of the best hotels that I have stayed in. The staff were very helpful especially Loubna and Driss. They advised us on the best places to go and spoke very good english. The rooms are very big and they are very clean, and the spa within the resort is a must to go to. There is an indoor pool as well getting a range of massages, facials, and pedicures. Was well worth the money. The hotel is situated quite outside of Marrakech town, however there is a bus which takes you to the town every morning or evening and will drop you back which is free. As the hotel is quite far from the town you do have to eat inside the hotel quite a bit which can be costly. All in all we had a very pleasant stay here and would recommend you to stay here, would love to try and go again to stay for a long weekend, and just spend my time in the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My partner and I took our 15 month old baby here for a 7night break after spending 3 nights in a riad in central Marrakech.
We were delighted when we got to the hotel. A very stunning reception and were greeted by friendly staff, however, only 3 of the staff speak fluent English, this is nothing to complain about though as it isn't England!!
Our room was very nice, large, with a king size bed, travel cot, table with 2 tub chairs, big wardrobes which included a safe (we did not use the safe and nothing went missing), a mini cooler (mini bar), Plasma T.V, W.C and bathroom with a shower over a huge bath. We had a balconly outside the bathroom and a bigger one outside the bedroom with 2 chairs and a table.
The only thing we didn't like about the bedroom was that the tiles on the floor were unglazed, felt horrible to touch and always seemed to coat your feet with white dust so we couldn't let our toddler crawl around and kept our sandals on indoors.
The T.V had a couple of English speaking channels, the majority were Frenh and Arabic, which wasn't a problem in the slightest.
There is a beautiful indoor spa pool which we used most of the time, a big lagoon shaped pool with a smaller circular outdoor pool.
There was no entertainment in the hotel but a bar where you could get drinks and snacks.
The food was very nice but after a few nights you do get bored. Breakfast was the same everyday which consisted of; pancakes (stiff Morrocan type), scrambled eggs, pastries, breads, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereal with a choice of tea, coffee and fruit juice.
The breakfast is buffet style and very good value for money - 50dhirams which is currently around £3.70.
Lunch and dinner were the same price for a 3 course buffet meal which was 150dhirams, currently around £11.20. Salads and breads for starter, vegetable, fish, chicken and lamb dishes for main often served with rice or pasta and varoius homemade tarts and fruit for desert, no drinks included.
The food was of a very high standard.
If you wanted snacks you could order a sandwich at a cost of 66dhirams, currently around £5. We thought it was a little pricey and there are no shops around so you have no choice but to eat at the hotel.
The water was around £1.10 for a 1.5l bottle, local beer was around £2.60 for a small bottle and wine started at £12 a bottle.
The hotel has stunning Atlas Mountain views and is set in an olive grove.
I took a walk through the what seems like 'mud' built village to find some very friendly locals which was refreshing as in the souks the people can be very rude!
To get to Djemaa el Fna there is a free shuttle bus which leaves the hotel at 10am and picks you up at 5pm. If you want to go to Djemaa el Fna or return from there at different times using the same driver it will cost you around £14 one way for the 25minute journey.
The hotel shuttle bus driver is very friendly, he looked after our luggage on the last day after we had checked out and picked us up from Djemaa el Fna at 4pm to take us to the airport for £14.. You can get a bus to and from the airport for around £2 but we didn't want to carry our things around with a toddler all day in 48degrees.
Overall the hotel is lovely and in a beautiful setting but it isn't a place to go if you want to be in the heart of Marrakech... It's ideal for a relaxing break by the pool after a few nights in a Riad.

I would advise strongly against a long stay in this hotel. 7 nights maximum.

Bad Points:

The large outdoor pool was emptied half way through our stay for maintenance and was very noisy when they had the grinders outs whilst we were sunbathing and using the smaller outdoor pool. It did need cleaning though as when we did use the big pool it was full of algae, bugs and leaves.

There are no price lists available for meals and snacks, you do not know the price until you ask. There is a drink price list at the bar.

The price of food and drink is quite pricey and you don't expect to be paying those prices in West Africa.

The cooler in the bedroom isn't cool enough if it is quite full but the staff did offer to let us use the kitchen fridges for the babies things.

There is no option to 'pay as you go'. You either pay your bill off at the end of each day at reception, (which I reccommend you do so as not to pay for things you haven't had), or to pay at the end of your stay.

We stayed during Ramadan which meant we could not eat dinner before 8pm, due to the staff having their first meal of the day, wasn't good for us as that is our little ones bedtime so our evening meals were spent eating as fast as we could to avoid the dirty looks of the other holiday makers because we has an unhappy baby!

We were put in a first floor room which meant leaving the pushchair outside on the ground floor as we couldn't carry a heavy quinny buzz pushchair with a toddler up and down 2 sets of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is the first and last time I go to Marrakech and the first and last time I'll use a Ramada Hotel! From the moment I landed I had nothing but trouble with the hotel and its staff. First off only one of them spoke very bad English so communication was virtually impossible. Unless your French is considerably above average you will have a very hard time.

The favoured taxi service used by the hotel is a one man band by the name of Samir a self admitted member of the Moroccan Mafia who quite simply smiles while he picks your pocket (literally) and adds to the price of the fare despite what has already been agreed. He promises the earth and delivers nothing happily taking more than £300 in business from us while we were there (5 days)

The room to my apartment had inefficient air conditioning that leaked and stank the entire time I was there and nothing was ever done about it by the management. The leaking was so bad that I was unable to sleep throughout my entire stay because of the noise.

The balcony door conveniently doesn't lock in several of the rooms so if you leave it unlocked and have a few items of value not kept in the safe (to which you have no alternative if you travel heavy) then don't be surprised if your find chalk arrows or other marks outside the balcony door alerting the local criminal element to the availability of your goods! Fortunately having worked with the Dutch Police I was aware of this technique!

The satellite internet connection is painfully slow when it does decide to connect; which you will need to consult Google translate in order to understand what is being said or what to say. The prices of drinks are ridiculously expensive £3.50 for a bottle of water and £3.00 for a can of Sprite. You could ask for a Taxi to the Supermarket but that will cost £15 each way and any small items of value you happen to leave in your room or the car while shopping.

On the hotel website they note a gym and if you're willing to accept a badly plastered room with no AC, one treadmill an elliptical trainer and a rowing machine as an accurate description then enjoy it but remember to pack water available for £3.50 at the bar.

My stay at this hotel had me constantly on edge particularly so on my last night when I was asked if I wanted to buy some drugs by one of the barman who also recommended I visit the local cabaret in Marrakech with him. If I was younger and greener I probably would not have had the foresight to know what could happen or to check my bags thoroughly before checking out the next day.

One good thing I have to say is about the quality and standard of the food in the restaurant. Very reasonably priced buffet breakfast €6 and Buffet Dinner €15. The chef clearly is a true chef and the quality and standard of the food he puts out is quite simply very good value for money. He works hard and that is reflected in the standard of the cuisine.

The highlight of my stay was meeting two other Brits who'd had exactly the same experience.

In short I'm glad I went to this hotel to make me appreciate how much we take for granted from the high standards of our British and American hotels at home and abroad.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

After our long journey from Agdz we were looking forward to ending our holiday with a bit of luxury. Unfortunately the poor directions on the website meant we spent a long time searching for the hotel. It is 25km outside of Marrakech on the N8 to Fes. The road off the N8 to the resort is not a well maintained road, therefore not ideal for hire cars. We had a dispute regarding our reservation, about which the receptionist was impolite and when proved wrong, unapologetic. The resort has a spectacular pool, though it could have done with a clean, it has a golf course but no clubs or balls. We did manage to use the basket ball court and the service in the bar and restaurant was very good. The rooms were nicely decorated though we had a problem with our air-con and it was the first place in Morocco we had stayed where we had shared our room with a cock roach. It is a new resort with with some teething problems. It could be fantastic despite the remote location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort & Spa

Address: Melk Dahman Rehamena Sud Lieu | Dit Zaouiat Ben sassi cercle el bour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First resort concept in Marrakech, built in the traditional Moroccan style on an olive grove of 11 hectares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Douar Al Hana Marrakech
Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Douar Al Hana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.