We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Rocmarra to your Saves list
Dar Rocmarra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Dar Rocmarra from June 29th -3rd July (inc) after reading the reviews. Can honestly say this riad is a hidden gem amongst the melee of the medina. You get 5 star treatment for a very good price. The hospitality of Jamilla (riad manager) Jalil and Latifah is second to none, nothing is too much trouble and their local knowledge is a necessity for getting around.The riad is spotlessly clean and well kept, you are made to feel like royalty. Breakfast is just perfect to set you up for a days sightseeing....we ate in on our last evening and Jamillas cooking rivals any of the top restaurants in Marrakech. When you first arrive and you wander down the narrow lanes to the riad you are surprised by what meets you, you will be amazed. We would and will highly recommend staying here, the whole experience of Marrakech is one not to be forgotten. From booking they keep you informed by way of e-mail and contact numbers so you never feel out on a limb. We had the pleasure of meeting two of the owners (Julie and Rob oh and Archie), lovely people who just want you to enjoy the Marrakech experience. If you want a trip to Marrakech to remember then I would highly recommend Dar Rocmarra

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It was lovely to meet you too , see you again we hope !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
77
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at many wonderful riads during our stay in Morocco and Dar Rocmarra was one of them. The manager and staff are very accommodating without being over bearing, tricking just the right balance of service with privacy. The riad is a bit difficult to find at first, because it's down a pedestrian only street so your taxi can't drop you off in front of it. That said, a couple of very enterprising youngsters with a shopping cart (!) came up, put our bags in and took us directly there -- AFTER we negotiated the price first (very important!). Very, very quiet riad with a lovely terrace, clean, comfortable and impeccable rooms. Breakfast is terrific (have it up on the terrace - a great way to start the day), and the tagine dinner is very good as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It's says a lot when one gets a good review from a client that has stayed in many other riads,thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not a bad thing to say about our stay! Even before the holiday, the Riad was in touch offering to make arrangements for us to be picked up at the airport and,as we were arriving later on Saturday evening, would be want dinner (with a copy of the menu) - you pre-order so they can get the food in fresh on the day and cook it to order. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and were patiently answered all our touristy questions (first time in Morocco, so we had plenty).

The hotel organised an excursion out to the Atlas mountains for us, with a good driver who's English was sufficiently good he could cope with my Scottish accent (always a challenge when travelling).

Food is good (breakfast on the roof terrace is a real treat) and just a great all round experience - and the room was great as well - very quiet and a very comfortable bed.

On the map, it looks like the Dar Rocmarra is on the outskirts, but the old city is pretty compact, so its a 10-15 minute stroll to the main square and tourist locations, which is actually very pleasant (especially when you get used to the route!).

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
And we have absolutely no hesitation to say thank you ,'THANK YOU '
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived very late at night, but had arranged transfer through the Riad (VERY good idea, as one could never find it on their own). I had requested in advance to have a bottle of wine & a snack when we arrived as we hadn't had dinner. We were very skeptical all the from the airport until we stepped into this oasis. It was late but we were greater warmly with tea & cookie. While we drank our tea hot food was prepared for us. We were lead to our room to drop our things off & then shown to the terrace. All the while following the lead of being quiet as not to disturb others sleeping. Once on the terrace - which was candle lit & just beautiful, think fancy, schmancy - we were brought a chilled bottle of white wine & then our snack. The 'snack' of chicken tagine & white rice was Dlish & such a great way to relax after the trip. We were served breakfast everyday (on the terrace weather permitting) that was very tasty. One night we ate in the hotel & dinner was 2x more than 1 needed, but oh so yummy. Daily we would explore the Medina & come back mid-day to unload. Each time it was such a nice reprieve from the buzz of activity. Matter of fact, we usually took a break & had a cold libation on the terrace before heading back out. Jamilla was ready to answer any questions & offer any help. In the room was our own air-conditioning unit as well as slipper (great for tired feet) & robes. I'm sorry I didn't take any pictures of the terrace, it was quite enchanting. I would highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: Use the staff as a resource - they are happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We 100% agree ! Thank you so much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just got back today from a three day stay , We were a little worried when we first arrived but once inside Dar Rocmarra , its a different experience .
Jamilla is very helpful ,.and the place is kept lovely and clean .
Even though the roof terrace is up two flights of stairs ,the staff didn't seem to mind going back and forth if you wanted anything, always with a smile !

The only downside is we felt 3 days was a day too long , we were hard pushed to find things to do ,and the begging is a little off putting , a tip would be NEVER ask for directions in the street ,only ask a shop keeper or a policeman , (or you'll be handing more money over)
with hindsight I have to say that we should have gone for a place with a pool, and that was not in the medina..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review of the riad,it's a shame you were not quite so impressed with the medina,though for anyone thinking the same there are some nice retreats easily reached by taxi just outside of the medina such as the Beldi country club for anyone who finds the medina a little too much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a truly stunning riad, and we could not have been made to feel more welcome by Jamila.
She and her team (of two!) were very helpful in giving us directions and advice, and the lunch she cooks needs to be tasted to be believed. We stayed in the suite which was nothing short of stunning and the whole place was a perfect oasis of calm amid the bustle and madness of Marrakesh. We stayed for 3 nights and spent one full day in the riad, making use of the roof terrace where loungers and sunhats were available, when we weren't sitting on the shaded couch. Snacks, drinks and ice creams were brought up to us regularly. I can't recommend Dar Rocmarra highly enough if you are looking for a riad experience in this amazing city - you won't find anywhere better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks Kevin, we are all happy that you had such a nice stay with us,much appreciated !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Sadly, we only stayed one night at the Dar Rocmarra, on our way home, but it was such a lovely way to end a wonderful trip. We were greeted so warmly by Jamilla and the biscuits were SO delicious there was almost an unseemly scramble for the last one. I've since tried replicating them at home from an internet recipe, but I don't think I'll ever manage! We had a wonderful big family room, with the children in a space of their own and a big bathroom, down and then up some steps. Really quirky and VERY relaxing and we were looked after so well, even for that short time. It's great to be right in the middle of things and yet it was SO QUIET at night, you could have heard a pin drop. Lovely roof terrace, too. Lovely, lovely, lovely!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you so much,longer next time we hope !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rocmarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.