We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful & near souks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Rocmarra to your Saves list
Dar Rocmarra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Hamilton, bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful & near souks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first visit to Marrakech and we are so pleased we stayed at the Dar Rocmarra. We were met at the airport by a driver with a comfortable car arranged by the riad. The driver carried our bags and introduced us to the wonderful manageress Jamila. A refreshing mint tea was served while she explained in perfect English where we were and the best places to go. Dar Rocmarra arranged a very interesting trip into the Atlas mountains with a knowledgeable driver/guide.
First night we had a delicious dinner with wine served on the roof top terrace soaking in the atmosphere. Jamila makes a wonderful breakfast too which we had in the pretty courtyard accompanied by the gentle sound of the waterfall. Jamila and her staff are friendly and efficient.
Dar Rocmarra has a great location for exploring the old town and as the taxi rank is very close it's easy to get out to and back from dinner if you can walk no further after a day exploring! When we returned late from dinner Jamila's brother was there to welcome us and offer us drinks. He is there all night incase a guest needs anything just part of the wonderful service.
The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. I loved all the Moroccan lanterns and other
decorative items but most of all the timeless peacefulness is something very special. I am looking forward to our next visit and if you are looking for a great location, a peaceful atmosphere, with good food and staff this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
77
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Last week we made what was a first visit for me to Marrakech and a second for my girlfriend - and we both agreed that Dar RocMarra was an outstanding place to base ourselves for a couple of days. A tastefully and practically appointed room, breakfast that is almost worth the trip in itself, either courtyard or rooftop peaceful and lovely to sit and the staff, led by Jamila, most friendly and welcoming. It all felt like a bit of a 'discovery' - and by the way (as with any riad in Marrakech, I guess) you should certainly avail yourselves of the riad's offer to organise a driver to pick you up and take you there. The location a little walk away from the main touristic square is, frankly, a mercy - but that, the souks and the medina as a whole are very easy to access on foot and a taxi stand less than a minute away if you want to venture further afield or don't trust your own navigation. All in all, we'd certainly recommend this place to our friends: it's an excellent base from which to secure historic Marrakech: quiet, efficient, comfortable, secure and we felt very well looked after.

Room Tip: We booked through hipmarrakech.com and found the photos realistic and fair. We liked our first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went to Marrakesh last week for 4 nights for the first time with my mum and two aunties. We wholly agree with the other great reviews and we could not have asked for more, the location, the decor, the cleanliness, the breakfast and with a little notice dinner is served and there is a lovely warm Moroccan ambience in this Riad.

As soon as we arrived Jamila greeted us sat us down with mint tea and local biscuits and gave us an overview recommended where to go and places for sightseeing and some great tips. I want to thank Jamila the house keeper who is also an amazing cook, also Jalil for all his help and assistance and not forgetting Latifa. All the staff are incredibly helpful and cannot do more for you.

We shared two rooms the Bijou and Douria Suite they were very comfortable and have no complaints. Julie thank you so much for all your assistance with booking the accommodation
Dar Rocmarra is situated in a good location for visiting the souks and other main sites.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and cannot thank the staff enough in making our first time in Marrakesh a good experience. This was a great introduction to Morocco and would definitely go back and stay at the same place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited Morocco for the first time last month and stayed at Dar Rocmarra 5 days. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place. It was an oasis of peace after busy days of sight seeing. We were always looking forward to getting back to the riad at the end of each day and have a nice cool beer on the rooftop terrace and of course to Jamila's delicious dinners and then waking up the next day to the yummy breakfasts! Our suite was spacious and elegantly decorated. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom a dream. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed with my friend for 5 days and it was the highlight of Marrakech! so peaceful and lovely after a busy day out in the medina
we really looked forward to our delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace every morning and coming back after a busy day to a homemade Moroccan feast made with love by Jamila, the warm and welcoming house keeper. Jamila and her family run this lovey riad and you feel very looked after and in good hands
I highly recommend this riad for a easy access to everything and tranquil/chic ambience...
will definitely stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahón, Islas Baleares, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Dar Rocmarra for Christmas and New year and have just booked to go back in two weeks time. It´s a dream to be there, with such fantastic staff to look after us,we really
did not want to leave !
The rooms are beautiful and the sheets are the best we have ever been accustomed to,lovely soft fluffy towels and sleepers waiting for us and my favourite drink chilled, all make this place very special.
I must mention the bed in the Johara room (so comfortable,that we are now getting the same tempura mattress for our home )
We travel a lot and are very particular about where we stay,,When we found out through friends that had stayed,how great it was, ,we just had to try it. The food is better then ANY restaurant in the medina and Jamila buys daily with such care and it´s just a joy to look forward to her meals at lunch or dinner.
The music in the courtyard is wonderful, we bought the cd to take home,just to relax to.
The location could not be better,near one of the royal residences ,so very respectable and clean and just 7 mins walk to the main square and 2 mins to the souks.
There is wifi througout the riad which was great for me,as I had to catch up on emails on a daily basis.
we asked for the riad driver to pick us up from the airport and was pleasantly surprised to find him waiting for us ,what a nice chap he was too.
This will not be the last time we stay ,as we are going to bring the family and hire the whole place for my brothers birthday.
All I can say is ,"This IS the best " We are so looking forward to going back !!

Room Tip: We loved the Johara room ,because the bed was SO comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 10 friends have just returned from our stay at Dar Rocmarra for my Hen Do and we had the most perfect time! I knew the Riad was beautiful from the photos but I was still overwhelmed when I arrived as the photos, although great, don't do the Riad justice. It is so beautiful and each room has so much character. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Jamila, who is so helpful throughout the whole stay, and some delicious mint tea. We had dinner in on the first night which was cooked by Jamila and her staff and was just delicious!!! Perfect for us as we'd had a long day and didn't fancy going out.

Throughout our time at the Riad we were given the best possible service, taxis arranged, camel treks booked and plenty of wine was supplied!

We all felt very safe here, the Riad is constantly manned, day and night so no matter what time, there was someone there.

The terrace was a perfect place to sit in the sun and relax, also a gorgeous place to sit in the evening whilst enjoying some wine and nibbles :)

One of the lady's that owns the Riad, Helen, made the booking process very easy and provided me with some fantastic tips and advice for our stay in Marrakech.

I shall definitely return to show my husband to be the perfection that is Dar Rocmarra. I want to book my stay and flights already!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rocmarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.