We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Save Saved
You added Dar Rocmarra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Rocmarra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Fresh and new
Ranked #22 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 10 friends have just returned from our stay at Dar Rocmarra for my Hen Do and we had the most perfect time! I knew the Riad was beautiful from the photos but I was still overwhelmed when I arrived as the photos, although great, don't do the Riad justice. It is so beautiful and each room has so much character. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Jamila, who is so helpful throughout the whole stay, and some delicious mint tea. We had dinner in on the first night which was cooked by Jamila and her staff and was just delicious!!! Perfect for us as we'd had a long day and didn't fancy going out.

Throughout our time at the Riad we were given the best possible service, taxis arranged, camel treks booked and plenty of wine was supplied!

We all felt very safe here, the Riad is constantly manned, day and night so no matter what time, there was someone there.

The terrace was a perfect place to sit in the sun and relax, also a gorgeous place to sit in the evening whilst enjoying some wine and nibbles :)

One of the lady's that owns the Riad, Helen, made the booking process very easy and provided me with some fantastic tips and advice for our stay in Marrakech.

I shall definitely return to show my husband to be the perfection that is Dar Rocmarra. I want to book my stay and flights already!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
70
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed @ Dar Rocmarra a year ago and was so entranced by the place, Jamila`s amazing food , Jaleel`s smiling face and ``nothing too much trouble `` attitude that I couln`t wait to go back.
We returned for 4 days in March and took over the whole Riyad. What an unforgettable experience ! The food was as fabulous as last year, so much so that we had dinner there every night - to quote Paul Newman ``if you have steak at home , why go out for a burger?``
The service, the attention to detail, the decor, the sun roof and those fabulous breakfasts , what is not to love ? (dont be put off by the walk down the derb, it is worth the wait)
Jamila and Jaleel are a delight , friendly, helpful and most welcoming and never tired of us talking , drinking copious amounts of wine and keeping them up into the small hours as we put the world to rights over the courtyard dinner table or on the terrace under the stars.
It is a true oasis , as memorable as any 5 star hotel - can`t wait to return !

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and unique. The bathrooms are sublime and wanted to take everything h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Dar Rocmarra for 3 nights. We were not sure if staying in a riad would have been a Suitable option for us but soon found it was the perfect place to stay. It is definitely a calm away from the hustle and bustle of Medina. We were given 5 star treatment as soon as we got to Riad. The service and advice we received from jamila and her team was extremely helpful. The breakfast each day was varied and very good we truly felt spoilt. The riad is easy to find and immaculate past reviews are a true reflection - the beds are super comfortable. Outside of the riad, you soon get used to the darting mopeds, donkey and horse carriages all sharing the same street! All in all I would most definitely recommend dar rocmarra for a visit to the wonderful city of Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed in Dar Rocmarra for five days in February and enjoyed it immensely. The attention to detail in the rooms was as good, if not better than a luxury 5 star hotel. You are treated so well, you do not want to leave the Riyad, so I stayed and enjoyed the home cooking and good wine! Only when you go out into the madness of Marrakech, do you appreciate the tranquility of this superb Riyad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in Dar Rocmarra for three days in late febuary and it was perfect. Jamila, Jaleel and Latifa took perfect care of us whilst also making us feel like we were alone and could treat Dar Rocmarra like our home. The roof-terrace is perfect for mint tea and star-gazing. The rooms (I had a peek in them all!) are all designed differently with bucketloads of character and beautiful decoration. I'd imagine the water feature would be a god-send in summer as it acts as a natural air-conditioner. But on the sometimes chilly February nights it is great to come in and see that Jaleel has already made the fire, and to cosy up in the alcove by the fireplace.

Jameela cooks great traditional Moroccan cuisine and a big hearty breakfast. Also they sell beer and wine at a reasonable price, which is nice as it is sometimes hard to find in the city. But the most amazing thing is the position, tucked down labyrinthine alleyways, behind an unassuming doorway - it is truly in the heart of the medina. Close to main attractions and souqs but also the nice shops of Rue Dar el Bacha and Rue de la Mouassine. I also loved Rue Bab Doukkala that leads away from the centre - you can get literally anything on that street and its always busy.

I highly recommend Dar Rocmarra, can't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was our 10th wedding anniversary so it had to be special. In choosing Marrakesh and the Riad Dar Rocmarra we have just made a wonderful memory. Jamila/Jalil and Letife treated us like 5 star guests. We could not have received better service at the Four Seasons Hotel. Our free upgrade to the suite (being the winter season) was an added bonus and with rose petals scattered across our king-sized bed, white fluffy dressing gowns and slippers in the bathroon, a log fire each evening in the Atrium and soft background music at breakfast and dinner, we nearly didn't get out of the Riad at all!!! The weather was fine - sunshine and temperatures in the low 20's and this was February. Without doubt, staying in the Medina (old town) made our Moroccan experience that much more atmospheric and we were not pestered by locals or beggars during our sojourns around the city. Staying in the Gueliz (new town) may be nice but you can do that anywhere in the world whereas staying at the Dar Rocmarra was unique and very reasonable. Jamila's food is delicious. Wine,spirits and beer are available on request and with only 5 guest rooms the feeling is one of intimacy - like being in your own home in an exotic culture. We will certainly return. Choose the Dar Rocmarra - you won't be disappointed. Susie and David Baggaley

Room Tip: Hair dryers, shampoos etc are all provided in your room. The Riad chauffeur service from and to Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Dar Rocmarra is a beautiful riad with very welcoming staff and in a good location just a few minutes walk from the main souk. All rooms are individual but delightful and very clean and comfortable. An oasis with a special feel and Jamilla's cooking is bonus!

Room Tip: All rooms are delighful but there is a large suite that would suit three/four travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rocmarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.