We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Save Saved
You added Dar Rocmarra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Dar Rocmarra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free airport transfers
Ranked #20 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Dar Rocmarra for 3 nights. We were not sure if staying in a riad would have been a Suitable option for us but soon found it was the perfect place to stay. It is definitely a calm away from the hustle and bustle of Medina. We were given 5 star treatment as soon as we got to Riad. The service and advice we received from jamila and her team was extremely helpful. The breakfast each day was varied and very good we truly felt spoilt. The riad is easy to find and immaculate past reviews are a true reflection - the beds are super comfortable. Outside of the riad, you soon get used to the darting mopeds, donkey and horse carriages all sharing the same street! All in all I would most definitely recommend dar rocmarra for a visit to the wonderful city of Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
66
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed in Dar Rocmarra for five days in February and enjoyed it immensely. The attention to detail in the rooms was as good, if not better than a luxury 5 star hotel. You are treated so well, you do not want to leave the Riyad, so I stayed and enjoyed the home cooking and good wine! Only when you go out into the madness of Marrakech, do you appreciate the tranquility of this superb Riyad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in Dar Rocmarra for three days in late febuary and it was perfect. Jamila, Jaleel and Latifa took perfect care of us whilst also making us feel like we were alone and could treat Dar Rocmarra like our home. The roof-terrace is perfect for mint tea and star-gazing. The rooms (I had a peek in them all!) are all designed differently with bucketloads of character and beautiful decoration. I'd imagine the water feature would be a god-send in summer as it acts as a natural air-conditioner. But on the sometimes chilly February nights it is great to come in and see that Jaleel has already made the fire, and to cosy up in the alcove by the fireplace.

Jameela cooks great traditional Moroccan cuisine and a big hearty breakfast. Also they sell beer and wine at a reasonable price, which is nice as it is sometimes hard to find in the city. But the most amazing thing is the position, tucked down labyrinthine alleyways, behind an unassuming doorway - it is truly in the heart of the medina. Close to main attractions and souqs but also the nice shops of Rue Dar el Bacha and Rue de la Mouassine. I also loved Rue Bab Doukkala that leads away from the centre - you can get literally anything on that street and its always busy.

I highly recommend Dar Rocmarra, can't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was our 10th wedding anniversary so it had to be special. In choosing Marrakesh and the Riad Dar Rocmarra we have just made a wonderful memory. Jamila/Jalil and Letife treated us like 5 star guests. We could not have received better service at the Four Seasons Hotel. Our free upgrade to the suite (being the winter season) was an added bonus and with rose petals scattered across our king-sized bed, white fluffy dressing gowns and slippers in the bathroon, a log fire each evening in the Atrium and soft background music at breakfast and dinner, we nearly didn't get out of the Riad at all!!! The weather was fine - sunshine and temperatures in the low 20's and this was February. Without doubt, staying in the Medina (old town) made our Moroccan experience that much more atmospheric and we were not pestered by locals or beggars during our sojourns around the city. Staying in the Gueliz (new town) may be nice but you can do that anywhere in the world whereas staying at the Dar Rocmarra was unique and very reasonable. Jamila's food is delicious. Wine,spirits and beer are available on request and with only 5 guest rooms the feeling is one of intimacy - like being in your own home in an exotic culture. We will certainly return. Choose the Dar Rocmarra - you won't be disappointed. Susie and David Baggaley

Room Tip: Hair dryers, shampoos etc are all provided in your room. The Riad chauffeur service from and to Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Dar Rocmarra is a beautiful riad with very welcoming staff and in a good location just a few minutes walk from the main souk. All rooms are individual but delightful and very clean and comfortable. An oasis with a special feel and Jamilla's cooking is bonus!

Room Tip: All rooms are delighful but there is a large suite that would suit three/four travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had the most lovely honeymoon stay at Dar Rocmarra, beautiful room ( johara) laid on for us with rose petals and candles! Bed was extremely comfortable and the room perfectly clean. This riad was totaly refurbished with great taste only four years ago.
The food and service provided by the team especially Jalill and Jamilla was first class, we had trips to the desert and a tour of the souks organised (always ask for an official guide), the owner even loaned me his walking shoes!
You must try breakfast on roof terrace in the sun.
We will return for our anniversary! Thanks for nice start to married life!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My Mum and I spent a few days in late October staying in this gorgeous riad. It is run by Jamila and her wonderful team of staff and nothing was too much trouble for them. She produced such delicious home-cooked food that we only ate out on one occasion!
Our room was beautiful, immaculately clean and comfortable and the riad itself was definitely a serene contrast to the wildness of Marrakech. It is close to the souks and the main square and it was very easy to pick-up the cheap taxis that ferried us around the city only a couple of minutes away.
I would return to Marrakech in a heartbeat and wouldn't think twice about staying at Dar Rocamarra again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech
Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rocmarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.