We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Save Saved
You added Dar Rocmarra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Rocmarra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My Mum and I spent a few days in late October staying in this gorgeous riad. It is run by Jamila and her wonderful team of staff and nothing was too much trouble for them. She produced such delicious home-cooked food that we only ate out on one occasion!
Our room was beautiful, immaculately clean and comfortable and the riad itself was definitely a serene contrast to the wildness of Marrakech. It is close to the souks and the main square and it was very easy to pick-up the cheap taxis that ferried us around the city only a couple of minutes away.
I would return to Marrakech in a heartbeat and wouldn't think twice about staying at Dar Rocamarra again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
71
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful riad for three nights and at the risk of sounding cliche, this really is an oasis of calm in hectic Marrakech. From the moment the door was opened by the serene Jamila, we were completely smitten and couldn't believe how lucky we had been in choosing to book. Our bed and bathroom were scattered with rose petals, gorgeous linen - towels the softest ever! The whole riad is traditionally furnished with sumptuous fabrics, but with a contemport twist. Jamila, Jalil and Latifa manage the riad on behalf of the four English owners and do so perfectly, please do stay in one night to sample one of Jamila's wonderful evening dinners - breakfast too is freshly cooked to order, plentiful and delicious. Jalil and Jamila made reservations at restaurants for us, guided us on the best places to visit and recommended a hammam - another must on a visit to Marrakech. Everything about our stay at this riad was perfect, it could not be bettered. Please do rely on the words you see written about this riad from myself and all of the other visitors - every word is true, in fact seeing is believing, you will not be disappointed. Marrakech and the square in particular can be a little daunting, and maybe not for the faint hearted, the haggling in the souk can get to you a bit also. However, the stall owners will smile and laugh and will not be rude if they know you are not interested in purchasing so don't be put off, its an experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sahara room, traditional, gorgeous bedding, traditional bath. Julie the owner was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dar Rocmarra was our first taste of Morocco and we could not have asked for more. Having pre-arranged a transfer from the airport through the staff at Dar Rocmarra, our driver escorted us through the last part of the short journey along the street and down the very clean alleyway to the riad. On arrival, Jamilla produced wonderful pastries and mint tea and sat us down in the calm of the beautiful courtyard. She answered any questions we had and gave us some very useful local knowlede and maps of the medina. She also offered to book any restaurants, hammans, taxis or trips for us. As we arrived late on in the afternoon, we were glad we had pre-booked dinner there - Jamilla is an excellent cook and her food is not to be missed.
We were treated like kings by Jamilla, Jalill and Lattifer, who couldn't have been more helpful or thoughtful. The riad is so calm, clean and beautifully decorated, with the linen and towels being of top quality. The high standard of this riad should ensure that it is always fully booked, but perhaps some people misguidedly think the location is not central enough - even though it only takes 2-3 minutes to walk to the nearest souks. We loved staying here, from enjoying the excellent breakfasts in the sunshine on the roof terrace, to relaxing by the plunge pool before going out to explore more of Marrakech. Dar Rocmarra was recommended to us and we have no hesitation in highly recommending it to you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Unable to book 4 nights at Dar Chakria just along the alleyway we were recommended to book into this riad by Dar Chakria's owners and we were delighted by the whole experience. Arriving late in the evening and with the taxi unable to take us all the way to the front door we were ' escorted'! on the final part by two local boys who whisked our suitcases away from us and proceeded to speed us through the twisting dark alleyways to DR's front door. This was quite an unnerving experience and we wondered what we had let ourselves in for given the condition of the outside walls and narrowness and darkness of the street but we had nothing to worry about. One tip: as a westerner you are viewed as a walking cash machine and these two lads tried to scam us for a 100dirahms for pulling our cases about 500yds. We didn't pay and neither should you. We paid 40 dirhams but suspect that they would have been happy with 20. One we stepped inside the riad it was like entering a different world. The phrase oasis of clam is overused but it really was. All the staff were very welcoming and the setting was an absolute delight. Whilst the room was only of average size it was all that we needed, clean and well presented and with aircon. The scattered rose petals were a nice additional touch. We ate in on the first night and we would recommend this especially if you are arriving in the darlk and its's your first time in Marrakech.The cooking was superb and we had a very enjoyable meal even though we were the only guests eating . Breakfast on both mornings was once again very good and set us up well for the days ahead. The staff were all extremely friendly, attentive and polite, obviously proud of the riad and determined to look after us as well as they could.Given its location we suspect that this riad does not get the custom it deserves but it really should, given that the cost of staying there is extremely reasonable and anyone, especially if on a tighter budget, would be getting very good value for money and a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A must for any time we return to Morocco. Jamila and her staff know how to look after visitors and facilitate a sense of adventure while providing the comforts of home. Food delightful, bedrooms so comfortable and converstaion relaxed and informal.
Wish we'd known about it when we still had the kids with us

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

our first time in Marrakech and this was a beautifully maintained riad, that covered every aspect that was desired. Jamilla ans the staff continually strive to ensure a peaceful and releaxing stay and are on hand to assist with your every need. The food and meals cooked are second to none and highly recomended - its like hiring your own personal restaurant for the evening. It is very hot during july and august, the rooms are air conditioned which is a necessity if you go at this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My four children and younger sister loved the Riad. Jamila made it like home for us. She cooked great food and made us feel welcome throughout out stay. My son who is aged 9 loved the splashpool and Jamila was kind to me and family throughout. I loved the decor, ambience and hospitality of the Riad. I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rocmarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.