We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel management ruins a lovely place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Avenue du 7ieme Art | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor hotel management ruins a lovely place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having just spent 4 nights at the palm plaza, i can honestly say that except for the pool and outdoor lunch cafe, the hotel under-performs on almost all counts. The rooms facing the pool are quite nice and the bathrooms good; however, there are so few amenities that the hotel needs to loose whatever stars it has. There is no bottled water, no hangers for suits, no tissues, intermittent internet service, hard as rock pillows and I could go on and on. These things should be fixable were management interested in doing so. apparently not the case.

The front desk staff is overworked and doesnt have maps, change for foreign currency ( no ATM either), misses wake-up calls, and is generally overwhelmed to do the basics. They like most Moroccans are very nice to foreigners, but the service at this hotel is poor and travellors should stay away until it improves.

Room Tip: Facing the poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    96
    63
    38
    34
See reviews for
65
106
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A good hotel, but more than half empty. Our room overlooked a building site, but there was no activity so no noise. A splendid swimming pool. If possible book a room overlooking the pool. The restaurant was a good standard for Morocco, but not haute cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Palm Plaza is formally a "five star" hotel on the basis of its facilities. The physical plant is, in fact, attractive. However, the rooms are dirty, the breakfast meager and the staff not particularly helpful. Even small things like arranging a trip to the airport seems too taxing for the front desk. The wireless system is abysmal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I've found a deal which propose a price of 60 euro for a this 5* hotel and I've take it.
Except de the welcome which isn't as expected all were perfect.
The room was large and clean with a view to swiming pool. Breakfast was good except the the FBI agent (servers) present there.
Too far from jamea lfna but I've a car.
With mydeal I found the price very interesting.
The trip was 23th june 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Well, all I can say is this is the first time I was at the hotel, and it is certainely not going to be my last time. The staff is friendly, there is plenty of space, it's clean and the price is cheap compared to he quality.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Responsable commercial at Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We love the nice comment you are giving about us .
It’s a huge satisfaction to know that our daily efforts to provide the utmost quality of service to our guests have been rewarded “Excellent”.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon for another great experience.
Thank you again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. It has 5 stars but UK 4 no more. The main areas were well decorated in the typical Moroccan style but again, particularly in the Reception area they could have done with more lights. The grounds were lovely as was the outside pool and there were lovely views towards the snow-clad Atlas Mountains. The rooms were large, all with balconies clean and comfortable. Once again housekeeping was a problem we arrived back at 7.15pm one night to find that they still hadn't given us a bath plug (although I had asked three times) nor had the room been cleaned, towels changed or bed made. I had to have words with the Duty Manager and it was only after she got involved that our room was sorted. Once again there were supposed to be 3 restaurants but we only found the Thai one which seemed to cater for all. The buffet was very good and the staff here were a lovely bunch of guys - actually smiled. The breakfasts were very good with lots of choice. We found this hotel to be very quiet all round and it was probably one of the better hotels we stayed in whilst in Morocco. This hotel was only built in 2009 and the whole area is very new so there are no facilities near 15 minutes into Marrakech and there was a lot of new building going on so be warned it could get very noisey with JCB's and builders!

Room Tip: Just make sure that you are in an area of the hotel where there is no building work going on outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyndie m, Direction at Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your comment and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked ourself in via booking.com for our last night in Morrocco as a treat, but we were very dissapointed to the extent it spoilt the last day and night of our holiday. We waited for about 45minutes to get to the check in desk to be told they had no record of our booking. We were told to sit down while they sorted it. 30mins later I asked what was happening, they hadn't found it, but hadn't bothered coming to tell us! We had arrived from a long journey from Essouria and you are not allowed to bring in your own food or drink here so we were getting a bit thirsty.
The wifi only worked on the opposite side of the lobby to the reception so that I could get the details of our booking to show the reception staff (via iphone), they asked me to email it across to them. This is almost impossible when the wifi cuts out every two seconds. I asked if I could get the details of thier computer since this is where they would be reading it anyway, "no" was the answer as the staff are working.... so eventually, email sent and read, the staff tell me that the phrase relating to requests such as "no smoking or sea view" - "can be requested but not always honored" meant "you have paid for a room but you may not get one"! Absurd!!!
About 2.5 hours after we arrived, a slight raise of my voice, voila, our room has been found!! No apology.
After this a row broke out between the concierge and some other guests. The concierge started to take us to our room, and then had a further argument almost coming to blows with the other guests! It literally was like a scene from Eastenders, but in French.
Ariive at our room, it overlooked a building site (granted it was not being worked on), missing tiles in the bathroom, sliding door broken and birds nest in the balcony. Not great for a 5 star, but not awful I suppose.
Breakfast was fine - mixture of hot and cold foods, but lots of sweet food rather than savoury. Nice juice and mint tea.
Pool area nice, very green surroundings, although really busy when we visited, so no loungers but we sat under the trees.
There is a shopping complex down the road, but you cannot bring any food or drink back to the hotel, even water, as you have to buy it there.
Other than that, its a short taxi ride into Marrakech to the souks. The hotel runs a bus also but it stops about 8 or 9pm.
Check out was easier, but the same reception guy was still questioning our booking, only to be told by another girl that it was fine and showed him the paperwork.
Would I stay again?? Not if that idiot on reception is still there, if I want to wait in reception for half of my holiday, if I want to witness verbal aggression and potential violence from the staff!
Palm Plaza spoilt our last day in lovely Morocco, I really wish we had gone back to the lovely Riad we stayed in before, where despite a language barrier, we were made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyndie m, Direction at Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. We really apologise for the misunderstanding with problems you had encountered.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenue du 7ieme Art | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#125 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury resort is located in Agdal, a new residential district in Marrakech. Palm Plaza offers free Wi-Fi and free shuttles to the city. Palm Plaza Hotel features comfortable rooms and suites. Some feature a terrace. Savour exotic dishes in the hotel's restaurant. Have a snack in the pool bar. In the evening, have a quiet time in the piano bar or an exciting night in the night club. The spa features a heated play pool (for children from 14 years), a sauna, a hammam and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel And Spa
Palm Plaza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.