We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Avenue du 7ieme Art | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff completely ruined my stay with there could not care less attitude and constantly trying to charge me for things on my bill I did not have. They have left a bitter taste in my mouth of the Moroccan people which is a shame as It is a lovely country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed Amine E, Agence de com partenaire at Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Google Translation
Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    102
    67
    41
    40
See reviews for
72
107
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here the night of Tuesday, November 13, 2012. This was part of an overland journey from our cruise ship in Casablanca to Marrakech to Agadir where we rejoined the ship the next evening. The hotel was very nice. Pretty well decorated and appointed. Rooms were very clean and well kept. Service was good. The breakfast buffet was quite good, as well. Overall a good choice and fairly well located. The hotel served us well after an exhausting day driving from Casablanca and touring Marrakech and especially after attending the very horrible Chez Ali Fantasia that evening. After THAT experience we needed a good hotel and we got it with the Palm Plaza!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A large modern hotel on the outskirts of Marrakesh. Close to airport. The area is still being developed only a shopping mall with food court was within walking distance. After a day sightseeing we were happy to sample the hotel's restaurants. The main eating area serving buffet food is large and was empty, as was the exotic Morrocan Restuarant. It was too cold to sit out at the garden bar/cafe. We chose the Thai restuarant where we found the staff friendly and helpful. Food was freshly cooked while we waited and was very good. We used this dining area for the 3nights we were there. We were made very welcome. It does help to speak French or Arabic. Our room over looked the pool and gardens and was clean and comfortable. We had a pleasant balcony from which to watch the sunset. Breakfast again buffet style, don't expect bacon and eggs, but there are freshly cooked omelettes.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed, as part of a group, for the last rhree nights of our tour of Morocco. Pleasant hotel with ample space in the rooms plus a balcony, lovely spacious pool and gardens plus 3 restaurants, snack bar and bar. But the rooms have no mini bar, the fridge had been disabled so we couldn't even keep our water cool and the hotel is way out of town, opposite a row of empty shops and next to a building site. A *5 star hotel and no mini bar??
Our tour included a very good breakfast in the 'International' restaurant where we opted to go for the very good buffet in the evening. Wine service was very slow. The second night we did likewise but the meal was much the same. On our last night, 11 ipeople independently booked through Reception to eat at the Moroccan Restaurant. At 7.30 we arrived to find it empty. After several enquiries which took half an hour, we were told that it was closed as the person running it was off that evening! No apology regarding our bookings. We went back to the buffet restaurant but that was closed too. We tried the snack bar but there was almost no food left. Finally we went to the Thai restaurant where there was no Thai food at all but a few leftover starters from the buffet, two hot dishes - one of them tripe! - and a few tired looking leftover desserts from the buffet of the last two days. It took 20 minutes to order the wine,10 for the waiter to bring it and 5 for him to find a corkscrew. Getting the bill each night caused great confusion and much runnning around. Hopeless service in a so-called *5 hotel . Staff are not trained to *1 standards let alone *5 star. A pity as the hotel has much to recommend it.

Room Tip: Pool-facing rooms probably better but road side is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked this hotel along with the flight package for my 1st wedding anniversary - as my gift to my beautiful wife. First of all, I wasn't impressed with the hotel's standard as I really didn't think it was anywhere near 5 star. I booked a premium double room but on arrival I simply asked if I can be upgraded to a Suit and was told they'll have to speak with the manager tomorrow morning. The manager said in the morning he'll upgrade us if we pay 300 dirhams which we said no to. Secondly the room's carpet was very dirty, digital safe to store money & passports didn't work due to low battery and I couldn't lock the balcony door (but that was my fault because I wasn't doing it properly). I felt like non of the staff went out of their way to help us apart from Iman, she was very helpful and tried her best to help us. Staffs understanding of English was very poor as I meet beggars on the street (in Djami Al Fena) who understood and spoke better English. The location of the hotel was good as it wasn't too far or too close to Djami Al Fena, the shopping mall (Al Mazar, Carrefour) across the road was very handy but it gets very quite in the area after 10pm as it's a new residential area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A group of us booked this hotel through Groupon for 3 nights which inc breakfast and dinner.
When we checked in the staff were more than willing to help out and gave us a pool view and the two rooms were interconnecting which was perfect for 4 girls.
The view was just amazing, the room was air con which was perfect as it was 40degrees outside.
The food wasnt that great as it was mainly the same every night except on our last night we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were always willing to help. We went during Ramadan so the hotel was very quiet which worked out best for us.
The pool is really nice and love the fact that we didnt have to fight for a lounger or space.
Best groupon deal I have ever got and would defo recommend this to anyone. Will be visiting again with the hubby!

Room Tip: The interconnecting rooms 1309 and 1311 had an excellent view of the pool and was really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of an overnight land excursion on a recent cruise. The hotel is new and very clean. We enjoyed the lunch and breakfast that we had. Our room was comfortable. Because this was a pre-paid trip though the cruise line, I do not know what the cost of the stay way or if they usually include breakfast with the stay.

A word of warning----our sliding-glass door was not locked when we arrived in the room.

My other word of warning would be to hold on to your belongings. Upon arrival, we went into a reception room to fill out some paperwork and enjoy a cup of tea. I did not realize that I was missing my camera until about 30 minutes later. I am thinking that it fell out of my purse when I was looking for a pen. Three people went back to the reception room, on separate occasions, to take the cushions off of the chair I was sitting in and look throroughly around the room. After lunch, I went to the front desk to ask if the camera might have been turned in, and if not, to let them know that I had lost it and was looking for it. The person I talked with seemed unconcerned, but a few minutes the person who was serving us tea showed up with the camera. It was made to look like she had just found it in the chair.

Other than the camera incident, we enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the food. We did not have time to experience the spa or pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view. The street side is not noisy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenue du 7ieme Art | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury resort is located in Agdal, a new residential district in Marrakech. Palm Plaza offers free Wi-Fi and free shuttles to the city. Palm Plaza Hotel features comfortable rooms and suites. Some feature a terrace. Savour exotic dishes in the hotel's restaurant. Have a snack in the pool bar. In the evening, have a quiet time in the piano bar or an exciting night in the night club. The spa features a heated play pool (for children from 14 years), a sauna, a hammam and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel And Spa
Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Palm Plaza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Plaza Marrakech Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.