We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right price in the best place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Salsabil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Salsabil to your Saves list
Hotel Salsabil
30 Derb Lamtougui | Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #452 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“The right price in the best place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Thank you for a great stay! We booked last minute on a two day trip from ouarzazate and weren't disappointed. The Riad Salsabil was traditional which is what we were looking for after staying in a large hotel. We shared an air conditioned en suite room with one comfortable double bed and 2 singles for our party of 2 adults and 2 children. The boss moktar was most welcoming and friendly and really looks after his guests, providing breakfast on the terrace roof which was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend staying here as the location is great and right beside the square. I strongly recommend this Riad Salsabil for its location, the price for what you get, and just the overall great treatment we received from our hosts. Great for honeymooners, families with kids, seniors, and young travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    42
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
35
30
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

100 meters from the heart of Marrakesh, Djemaa El Fna Square, this riad salsabil is central to everything! Excellent service from staff, including the more then helpful cleaners and the place is absolutely spotless!! The rooms are very clean. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water in the bathroom, comfortable and clean bedding/pillows. Lovely breakfast, basic bread with butter and jam, plus orange juice and mint tea. Terrace area is perfect for relaxing, good view over the medina and free wifi in all common areas.
Great value for money! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a hotel (NOT A RIAD!), which is brilliantly located in a quiete side street parallel to Place Djemaa el Fna: You are close to public transport and will easily find the way back to the hotel...

The rooms are simply decorated, but functional, clean and the price-quality ratio is very good for Marrakech!

The biggest plus is the staff: Mohammed is really helpful, kind and a very professional hotel manager! I saw him handling several situations with great care (...and we tourists are not always easy...).

You might check Hotel Wissam, too, which belongs to the same owner - might be that they have a different standard...

All the best for 2014, Mohammed!!!

Room Tip: Careful: If you choose a room in the upper floor, you will hear the chairs/tables being moved by oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice location, exactly 5 mins walking to main square, which is totally not worth to stay. Dirty rooms, toilette and bathroom. Old and yellowish sheets and blankets. Heating and cooling systems not working. Poor and inadequate furnishings. Bugs and mosquito bites also in the middle of December.
I left with my family the day after.
Totally ill-judged.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I spot this place by accident walking around medina. Hotel is located next to 5 star hotel. I've been in Marrakech 5 times and this hotel was the best choice. First location is great you are next to medina and market. Has a lot of security guys looking after you with is important in Morocco. Staff is great and very helpful specially MOHAMED.They can organize trips for you to see waterfalls, dessert , another cities and a lot of more. Also is worth it to organize taxi from hotel Mohamed will be sure they not over charge you. Riad is beautifully design and has a lot of details. Rooms has nice decor and great clean bathroom. We stay in the room for 3 people around week so nice experience. The best value for money you can get for this quality. The best rooms are on the top floor because you get sun in the morning and for all day.Nice place to stay and I would stay there again and recommend to all travelers.

Room Tip: rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Riad Salsabil is one of the best hostels, I've ever stayed at. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. I'm definitely coming back to this hostel ! Located right in the center of the medina(old city ) and only one block away from the Jamaa el Fna square, it has character and charm ,they will make you feel at home , this hostel salsabil is a great place to explore the medina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed at Riad Salsabil 3 times now & consider it my second home.
It has character & charm which is matched only by the wonderful staff who run Salsabil. Nothing is too much trouble for receptionists Mohammed, Du Du & maids Llamia & Iman. Salsabil is so easy & comfortable.
There are three floors & each room opening onto a terrace of beautiful flora & foilage. Sunbathe on the loungers on the top terrace or spend a pleasant evening up there just watching the stars.
Perfectly located minutes from Jemma el Fna with everything at hand. Salsabil is the place to be when visiting Marrakech & Mokhtar the owner is always happy to help with booking & have a nice friendly chat too.
I've stayed in top class hotels all over the world but have to say none compare with the authentic, charming Salsabil. I totally recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The top floor has a kitchen so is handy for drinks snacks etc. Also rooms are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#192 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#165 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#156 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#142 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salsabil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salsabil

Address: 30 Derb Lamtougui | Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Salsabil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Salsabil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.