We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great introduction to Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mansoura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Mansoura to your Saves list
Riad Al Mansoura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great introduction to Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just returned from a great visit to Marrakech. Following advice, we stayed in a riad and picked Riad al Mansoura almost at random. Don't be put off by the approach down the alley. It was a great choice as the place was very central, just by the Palais Bahia, and very near the Kosybar for evening glass of wine. The riad itself is small and welcoming. Both Abdul and Zakia took great care of us and breakfast was superb. The room was small but clean and everything worked. The shower was basic. The riad gives a good local feel and has a lovely roof terrace with stunning views, including of the storks at the Bahii palace. The only thing to mar our stay was that the young woman who seemed to work in the office at the Riad, charged us 230 dirham for 'taxe de sejour', which we dutifully paid only to discover that this is not required at all so presumably was to line her own pocket. As everyone else had been so kind and hospitable, this was a shame. So, we would recommend the Riad al Mansoura provided you don't fall into that trap. It is a home from home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
42
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay and I am revitalized in the quiet riad. The decor is sought and highly personalized and gives a special touch to this property. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Aziz was good advice and a very nice guide. my boyfriend loves the tea and the Crips of the morning we always have in breakfast. i Really love to come back one day again....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Riad Al Mansoura in Marrakech is the only way to go, this one ticks lots of the boxes. The idea for our Christmas 2013 getaway was to go to a predominately non-Christian country within a short range, as our holiday time was limited. Researching accommodation brought us to the conclusion that a Riad would be better than other well-known luxury places. Cost and the idea to get a glimpse of the hustle and bustle of ordinary, daily life was our main objective.

The Riad is a historic building, but very comfortable and close to the Bahia Palace. Once behind the closed doors of the Riad you enter into a world of calm. Whilst the decor of the place is comfortable, it could do with updating in some of the rooms. Fortunately this was made up for by the approachability, cheerfulness and helpfulness of Madame Zaikia, who was excellent. No request was too much hassle for her and her husband.

Just off from the heart of the medina, it is important for potential guests to realise that this is a living, breathing part of the city where locals live, trade and earn a living, so is not going to be akin to places like La Mamounia Hotel that lies behind 15 foot high gates; in other words it is completely authentic.

Similarly, if you want something with less of a nod to European ideas of what Moroccan food should be like, then book the half board package, as we did. Breakfast is traditional Morrocan food and all meals are served fresh every day. Madame Zaikia made sure we wouldn't go hungry and we really need to thank her for giving us a wonderful escape from Christmas.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main through fare are best as they are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

THis Riad is excellent. It is an historic building but is very comfortable. The staff, Abdul and his wife Zakia were very friendly and welcoming. Zakia was really friendly and her cooking was divine. They are a great asset to the Riad and I would heartily recommend this riad to families,couples and solo travellers.

It is very close to the Bahia palace and the synagogue and is only 5min walk to the square

I would advise peopel staying here to eat here as well - the food, cooked by Madame Zakia is sublime

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travelled to Marrakech in April 2012 and really loved this place. It's rustic, charming and very peaceful so was great to come back to after a busy day in the medina. We were greeted by Aziz the owner and Zakia who looked after us very well. We were the only people staying there and having been given a key, it felt like our own Riad in the city. Breakfast is immense and we were served fresh, traditional morrocan food. Zakia certainly made sure we wouldn't go hungry! They were extremely friendly and we are only sorry our french wasn't up to scratch.

The riad is down one of the alleys but is only just off the main street, seemed a little daunting at first but if you greet the locals with a friendly smile and a "hello" you are welcomed. The location was perfect and we were able to walk to all the sites in the Medina, particularly the square and the souks.

The rooms are traditionally styled and the whole building is beautiful, unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there so we couldn't fully enjoy the roof terrace.

We had an amazing stay and would definitely stay in Riad Al Mansoura if we came back to Marrakech. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite and peaceful..... we just went for the cheapest which was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

It is my first time in Marrakech, at the moment I am still residing at Riad Al Mansoura but I could not wait to write a review because I simply love the Place and the hosts . Mr Aziz is so helpful and the cook Zakia is not only the best cook here in town, she is simply adorable..The location is quite central, in a small narrow corner of the Madina but seems perfecty safe and easy to get to once you get the hang of the Madina ! I am in the Yellow room, simple but clean, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is very very rustic..this is a good place to stay in as a lonely female travler I could have not come across anything better !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The location is kind of weird very close to Bahia Palace and in front of the Sinagogue , the street looks kind of scarry the fisrt time ;-) but in our experience is perfectlly safe , the hotel is very clean and well kept ( no noises from the outside), the rooms are comfortable , but the strong point is their service , the guy in charge ( Aziz) is quite nice it is very helpful and tries to make the best of your stay in Marrakech , the cook is very good ( the breakfast is great nad we had dinner there and was a good experience) and the other lady was very nice as well. The service is great and you do not even know they are there . I will go to this riad the next time I go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Mansoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mansoura

Address: Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#197 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Mansoura 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al Mansoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Mansoura Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Mansoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.