We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat in Marrakech.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mansoura

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Mansoura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotelsclick.com
and 2 more sites!
Riad Al Mansoura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
South England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat in Marrakech.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travelled to Marrakech in April 2012 and really loved this place. It's rustic, charming and very peaceful so was great to come back to after a busy day in the medina. We were greeted by Aziz the owner and Zakia who looked after us very well. We were the only people staying there and having been given a key, it felt like our own Riad in the city. Breakfast is immense and we were served fresh, traditional morrocan food. Zakia certainly made sure we wouldn't go hungry! They were extremely friendly and we are only sorry our french wasn't up to scratch.

The riad is down one of the alleys but is only just off the main street, seemed a little daunting at first but if you greet the locals with a friendly smile and a "hello" you are welcomed. The location was perfect and we were able to walk to all the sites in the Medina, particularly the square and the souks.

The rooms are traditionally styled and the whole building is beautiful, unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there so we couldn't fully enjoy the roof terrace.

We had an amazing stay and would definitely stay in Riad Al Mansoura if we came back to Marrakech. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite and peaceful..... we just went for the cheapest which was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
41
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

It is my first time in Marrakech, at the moment I am still residing at Riad Al Mansoura but I could not wait to write a review because I simply love the Place and the hosts . Mr Aziz is so helpful and the cook Zakia is not only the best cook here in town, she is simply adorable..The location is quite central, in a small narrow corner of the Madina but seems perfecty safe and easy to get to once you get the hang of the Madina ! I am in the Yellow room, simple but clean, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is very very rustic..this is a good place to stay in as a lonely female travler I could have not come across anything better !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The location is kind of weird very close to Bahia Palace and in front of the Sinagogue , the street looks kind of scarry the fisrt time ;-) but in our experience is perfectlly safe , the hotel is very clean and well kept ( no noises from the outside), the rooms are comfortable , but the strong point is their service , the guy in charge ( Aziz) is quite nice it is very helpful and tries to make the best of your stay in Marrakech , the cook is very good ( the breakfast is great nad we had dinner there and was a good experience) and the other lady was very nice as well. The service is great and you do not even know they are there . I will go to this riad the next time I go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

DO NOT GO! We were shown to a tiny little room (without even a window) we had been expecting a balcony! The sheet on the bed had a huge rip in it straight on to the mattress which was filthy. The towels were literaly worn out, with holes in them and rough. Our main gripe is that it was very unwelcoming, freezing cold, with no heating. We had paid for half board which obviously came as a shock to the girl to had given us a mint tea on arrival. She said that this would be fine though. However, no food ever materialised. No chef ever materialised. The place was in darkness and freezing cold. We left to find somewhere else to eat and had a nice meal out. When we returned we realised we were the only people staying there, not even the owner showed up. Bearing in mind this Riad was down a filthy dark and long alleyway we felt vulnerable and frightened, not knowing who else may have a key to our room.
We left the next evening, we couldnt officially check out, as again, there was not a sole there.
We have travelled to many differerent countries, including the far east and India and China but have never come across such a terrible, unwelcoming, scary place.
The last reviwer says they were a group of 4 during the time we were there. There were certainly no other guests whilst we were there - beware!
We agree with a previous reviewer that the place looks abandoned and is nothing like the photos. A warm welcoming Morrocan experience it is not.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place looks abandoned and already shows signs of deterioration that are not visible in the website photographs. The employees are almost never there. Overnight, guests are left by themselves because there's no one present in the establisment. You need to ask them to change the towels or sheets and they never clean the room. The breakfast is poor and it is always the same. Many times you need to ask them to switch on the hot water. In the common area the air conditioner and television do not work. At night the whole place looks like a fridge, even in the rooms. Altough is just 10 minutes walk from the center, it is located in a filthy alley. The staff is friendly but certainly I do not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

the location of the riad is central to all the attractions in marrakech within walking distance. The riad itself is a home away from home so cosy and above all the ambience of the place is in keeping with the warm embracing morrocan culture. All our needs were seen to and the hospitality was first class along with the quisine. If its your first time dont worry just get here and you will be looked after from food to shopping to sightseeing. My wife and I would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March 2011. The Riad is down a long narrow alley and is very close to the Synagogue. The main square is about a 10-15 amble away and there are some good bars and restaurants nearby. The Tanjia food was particulary good.

The Riad Al Mansoura is best described as a typical traditional Moroccan Riad. If you expect this to be 4 star luxury then think again and stay elsewhere. if you want to experience real marrakech then I would recommend staying at this Riad. The staff are just so helpful. The manager Aziz has been previously described as a "gangster". How ridiculous! Aziz was always the perfect gent and very helpful at all times. His sidekick is Yahya. He makes your stay so pleasurable and is a credit to the Riad.

Breakfast is basic but it does the job. The coffee is so strong it certainly wakes you up.

On a seperate note, dont expect Marrakech to be cheap because its in North Africa, its anything but. On average you can pay between £3 and £6 for a small bottle of beer and about £15 for wine. Food is okay and again expect to pay at least £10 a head eating street food in the main square. Just remember not to look at anybody because there hand will be extended whilst expecting some money!!

Would I go to Marrakech again? Probably not as Im in the been there done that school!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Mansoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mansoura

Also Known As:
Riad Al Mansoura Hotel
Riad Al Mansoura Marrakech
Address: Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#203 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Mansoura 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Mansoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Mansoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.