We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 525 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $34 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had dinner here for my 50th last week and the whole experience was everything I could have wished for. Beautifully restored building with some of the best service I have ever received. The meal was fabulous and managed to even please 2 fussy daughters! The surprise birthday cake and being sung Happy Birthday to by Moroccan musicians is an experience I will remember for a long while. Would definitely return

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    216
    57
    10
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow of a place ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

On arriving at restaurant we didn't know what to find as soon as we got there in the middle of nowhere it's was just a gem of a place . Where we all amazed by the decor and the raid itself was amazing .
The service was nothing like it the food was delicious .
It's was a fantastic night well worth the money spent .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Moroccan Feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was a fantastic authentic experience. The waiter met us on the main road (as the Riad is hard to find) and took us to this beautiful oasis. The RIad was just beautiful and the food did not disappoint. We had salads, a pastilla, tagines, an assortment of cakes, desserts and tea. It was just delicious and we were treated like royalty. We would recommend this to all. A must do.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best meal in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I've been in Marrakech for 8 days now, have eaten at many fine places including La Sultana and Ksar Essaoussan, and it's my opinion that Riad Kniza is the finest place to eat in the old city. It's not often that a dining experience can bring me to the verge of tears but this did; beautiful food, genuinely helpful and friendly staff, traditional live music drifting into our private dining room over the sound of the courtyard fountain, lovely ambience, perfect. I found the Kniza easy enough, it's near Bab Doukkala, which is my favourite part of the old city and an easy 20 minute walk from the main square. I won't expand of what others have said about the food on offer, other than to say that everything tasted as it should do; which sounds obvious but is rarely the case in many eateries where the dishes can be either very bland or over spiced. Excellent, and I'd advise anybody visiting Marrakech to eat here at least once.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A traditional, authentic feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is one of the more traditionally restored Riads - and the food matches. Excellent hospitality and service, excellent Pastilla. At the same time, it's quite discreet: tables are spaced quite well apart, there's lovely live music, but without the excesses of belly-dancing. Great for a romantic night out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.