We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it is not about food it would be perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 543 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $32 - $84
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“If it is not about food it would be perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant as it was one of the recomendations for monday evening (when a lot of restaurants in Marrakech are closed) and I was impressed by the place... It was just stunning, authentic Moroccan style, detailed to perfection, warm welcome and smilling staff... Once seated we have been offered a drink (they do serve wine) and after that the show started... No menu, no price list, no questions... Just a Moroccan this and Moroccan that and did you like it and yes it was lovely and smiling and more smiling... The wine was nice... 5 courses meal was like any other full set menu of Moroccan foods... so very mild soup of lentils and beans, then sweet and salty pastilla of chicken and vegetables, then mix of sallads, then tajine and sweets on the end... The meal was ok but nothing as delicious as I was expecting... (I had better tajine in my hotel ie)... After the meal there was a little surprise called the bill that was 1200 DRH (£96 = €120) for two of us.
This is deffo place to see but I think there are better places to taste moroccan foods

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    58
    10
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great experience to be had... ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Allow me to be honest and upfront from the outset. I do not enjoy Morrocan food however I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Kniza. Riad Kniza is a hidden gem among the hassle and bustle of the old city. This in itself can pose quite the challenge when attempting to seek out such a treasure. Thankfully we advised reception we were on our way and they sent out one of their colleagues to greet us at the closest taxi drop off. As aliens in foregein lands we truly appreciated the gesture. We then got to enjoy an ad hoc tour of our surroundings followed by an breathtaking walk around the Riad itself. I did not enjoy the food but the dining experience was gold and our host of the evening welcoming and friendly. Dinner is accompanied by traditional Arabic music and overall experience provided a genuine sensory indulgence of what Morroco has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Dining here was a great experience. It is a luxury Riad, so seeing the building and furnishings was a treat for us. But we came to eat.
There were five courses that we thought were reasonably traditional. Vegetable soup (Harira?) was followed by an exquisite Bastilla - chicken and almonds in a flaky pastry with a dusting of icing sugar. Salads (8 or so small dishes of good vegetables) and small rolled pastries with fish, chicken and beef were next. Then tagines - chicken and lamb - and strawberries on a super thin pastry with cream to finish. Everything was between very good and excellent. Service was truly first class - always there but never obtrusive, and always extremely polite and friendly.
With a couple of bottles of respectable Moroccan wine the bill for three came to 1800 Dirhams. That may seem expensive by local standards, but we saw it as very good value for what ate and experienced.
It seems to me you wouldn't be reading down this far in the review if you are not interested in food and eating well. That being the case, do yourself a favour and go there if you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Best Moroccan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We came here by chance, after reading the wonderful reviews left by previous customers on Tripadvisor, and we can confidently say it is the best place we visited in Marrakech for dining so far. From beginning to end, the experience was beyond perfect- service was incredible, nice and attentive yet very discrete. The riad itself is sublime, with a lovely perfume of roses that fills every room. The food was delicious- I could keep writing for hours, but all I can say is go and visit and try it yourself, you will not be disappointed. Thank you for an unforgettable experience Riad Kniza!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Fabulous morrocan cuisine with excellent service! yum!
The best tagine and pastilla in town- served in a lovely be cushioned dining room with traditional musicians....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.