We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $31 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Fotherby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a delightful place to eat, wonderful service, delicious food and the most perfect surroundings - what more can I say. Its a must if you are looking for somewhere special to dine

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    62
    12
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious! And very accommodating for a Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Delicious tagines, cous cous and pastries. We ate here for one dinner, one lunch and four breakfasts. Delicious. Also, the kitchen is spotless!

Service is impeccable. Eat up on the roof terrace if you can and watch the sun set.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff, food OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant is the location in the beautiful Riad which has been restored beautifully. You can choose to dine either at the rooftop (preferred) or near the courtyard on the ground floor. The traditional Moroccan food is good, but nothing to write home about. The tajines were the best and the salads were pretty good. There was no space for dessert after the meal, which was very filling. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in arranging enough food for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It lives on the laurels of the past...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the restaurant of the homonym riad in the Medina of Marrakech.
Because of its excellent reputation I reserved a table in the occasion of the visit of a dear friend, architect in London, to whom at the same time I wanted to show the splendor of a beautiful traditional riad in Morocco and to taste the excellence of the Moroccan cuisine.
In short I wanted to spend a good evening with a friend and at the same time impress him a bit.
Certainly I reached my first goal because the riad is very decorated with intricate sculptural plaster works on the the walls and other precious handicrafts .. but concerning the food, we were completely dissatisfied with ... All the dishes were not noteworthy, bland , but of all, the chicken tajine was really bad.. At the light of te poor results I wonder why they ask by mail to make in advance te choice of the main course...My wife looked at me desolate all the time and I was very frustrated. Forget about the wines...a nonexistent choice.

Definitely this restaurant lives on the laurels of the past, and due also to the expensive prices charged, I suggest to forget about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Traditional food, creative twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great dinner with a traditional Moroccan base and then some. One of the best dinners of our trip. Book ahead for a place on the roof terrace for a relaxing, atmospheric and delicious meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.