We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A late feast fit for a king” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $71
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A late feast fit for a king”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The four of us did not book and only found the details of the restaurant on the day after searching trip advisor .
It was difficult to find, with only a small name plate next to the door (which is down a narrow alley).
We arrived at the door at quarter to ten and pressed the door bell to be greeted by the owner.
I asked him if it was too late to eat but he was said with a smile that it would be a problem but the menu may be a little limited due to the time of our arrival and showed us in.
The Riad was outstanding and after a short tour & history lesson with the owner we sat by the swimming pool whilst a table was cleared for us.

We were taken to our seats and had a wonderful meal with excellent service , after the third course none of us could manage a dessert .

We were asked if we would like to have our coffees on the roof terrace, which we did.

After paying a very reasonable bill , our waiter escorted back to the main street and said our good byes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    76
    13
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“First time in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a wonderful experience. I have never felt so welcome and so comfortable in a foreign country. The food was amazing, the people were amazing, helpful and some of the kindest people I have had the opportunity to meet. The Riad was beautiful. Can't wait to go back. I would highly recommend the Riad Kniza.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, although not the best in Marrakech”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

On a 3 day trip to Marrakech, we dined at the Riad Kniza on our last night. It is a grand riad, beautifully restored, but perhaps slightly impersonal compared to where we stayed (Riad Dar Anika - see seperate review). We were put in a private alcove, apart from other diners and overlooked from the main foyer - it was dining in a goldfish bowl! The service was faultless, the food fairly tasty but not terrifically adventurous compared to other places we dined at while in Morocco. The salad course was a fairly standard selection of vegetables, slightly on the oily side and without the variety of spices and flavours we have become used to. Not bad overall, but for the money (at the expensive end of local fayre), not the culinary experience we were hoping for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“splendid riad - good moroccan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Its a beautiful Riad - lovingly restored, which the owners proudly will show you around before you eat.
The meal is traditional Moroccan food, with a chicken pastilla (pie) to start - be sure you like cinnamon as its used extensively.
If you don't they'll give you another dish. The Tagines are all good - lamb with a sweet sauce and figs - chicken with olives.
The Johara (type of cream pie with almonds) we weren't overly impressed by and the Moroccan pastries are very dry and flaky but the coffee was good.
Service was excellent.
Overall well worth the experience at 1000 dhs for two with drinks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Superb food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you want to eat here you must book in advance. The menu is limited but what you get is high quality. We had a salad starter followed by fish tajine and lamb tajine. Both excellent and more than enough to fill us up. This was some of the best food we have eaten anywhere in the world. A must try when in Marrakech.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.