We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid riad - good moroccan food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $34 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Horley
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“splendid riad - good moroccan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Its a beautiful Riad - lovingly restored, which the owners proudly will show you around before you eat.
The meal is traditional Moroccan food, with a chicken pastilla (pie) to start - be sure you like cinnamon as its used extensively.
If you don't they'll give you another dish. The Tagines are all good - lamb with a sweet sauce and figs - chicken with olives.
The Johara (type of cream pie with almonds) we weren't overly impressed by and the Moroccan pastries are very dry and flaky but the coffee was good.
Service was excellent.
Overall well worth the experience at 1000 dhs for two with drinks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    216
    57
    10
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you want to eat here you must book in advance. The menu is limited but what you get is high quality. We had a salad starter followed by fish tajine and lamb tajine. Both excellent and more than enough to fill us up. This was some of the best food we have eaten anywhere in the world. A must try when in Marrakech.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Moroccan at a value price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Mr. Bouskri was our guide through the Medina and in the beginning he told us that he was going to show us a Riad. Towards the middle of the tour, he guided us through an alley and suddenly he was knocking into a certain "Riad Kniza". Upon entering, I and my partner were in awe of the beautiful and intricate decoration of the patio. Mr. Bouskri proudly showed us around the Riad and later on we learned that he was in fact the owner!

We were on our way to continue on our tour when I asked Mr. Bouskri if the restaurant was open to serve lunch since I was feeling the effects of our almost 3 hours walk through the medina.

Boy, I did not know that we were in for a treat!
I am no expert to exactly describe food, but I knew I was in culinary heaven!
I will let the pictures speak for themselves.
In the end, we barely could touch the dessert but was never able to resist.
Our server was prompt and courteous!
We were even surprised at how much value (low) we had to paid for.

All in all - perfect service in a perfect environment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The starters were the best I had in Marrakech. Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

We had the choice of inside or out and we chose to eat on the roof top. Was like an oasis in the middle of the madness of the medina.

I didn't stay in this raid but we were shown around by the owner and I would definitely stay here if I came again. The riad has been in their family for generations.

If you want true Moroccan food this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Riad Kniza food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great Moroccan food and wonderful small, well detailed dining rooms in a Moroccan setting. The staff was very attentive and provided wonderful service at this beautiful Riad.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.