We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid riad - good moroccan food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $73
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Horley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“splendid riad - good moroccan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Its a beautiful Riad - lovingly restored, which the owners proudly will show you around before you eat.
The meal is traditional Moroccan food, with a chicken pastilla (pie) to start - be sure you like cinnamon as its used extensively.
If you don't they'll give you another dish. The Tagines are all good - lamb with a sweet sauce and figs - chicken with olives.
The Johara (type of cream pie with almonds) we weren't overly impressed by and the Moroccan pastries are very dry and flaky but the coffee was good.
Service was excellent.
Overall well worth the experience at 1000 dhs for two with drinks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chriswoodbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Superb food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you want to eat here you must book in advance. The menu is limited but what you get is high quality. We had a salad starter followed by fish tajine and lamb tajine. Both excellent and more than enough to fill us up. This was some of the best food we have eaten anywhere in the world. A must try when in Marrakech.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Moroccan at a value price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Mr. Bouskri was our guide through the Medina and in the beginning he told us that he was going to show us a Riad. Towards the middle of the tour, he guided us through an alley and suddenly he was knocking into a certain "Riad Kniza". Upon entering, I and my partner were in awe of the beautiful and intricate decoration of the patio. Mr. Bouskri proudly showed us around the Riad and later on we learned that he was in fact the owner!

We were on our way to continue on our tour when I asked Mr. Bouskri if the restaurant was open to serve lunch since I was feeling the effects of our almost 3 hours walk through the medina.

Boy, I did not know that we were in for a treat!
I am no expert to exactly describe food, but I knew I was in culinary heaven!
I will let the pictures speak for themselves.
In the end, we barely could touch the dessert but was never able to resist.
Our server was prompt and courteous!
We were even surprised at how much value (low) we had to paid for.

All in all - perfect service in a perfect environment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The starters were the best I had in Marrakech. Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

We had the choice of inside or out and we chose to eat on the roof top. Was like an oasis in the middle of the madness of the medina.

I didn't stay in this raid but we were shown around by the owner and I would definitely stay here if I came again. The riad has been in their family for generations.

If you want true Moroccan food this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D0nnaGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Riad Kniza food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great Moroccan food and wonderful small, well detailed dining rooms in a Moroccan setting. The staff was very attentive and provided wonderful service at this beautiful Riad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank terrence c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing