We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food in marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $73
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best food in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

while we did eat every breakfast and dinner here my first visit to marrakech, i have since been back and had meals not at riad kniza and i can tell you that my favorite meals have come from here! while they had yummy breakfasts each morning it was their lentil soup that blew my mind! they also had really good chicken sandwiches for lunch and their pastilla was AMAZINGLY delicious!!! we had a 5 course dinner our first night and everything was so good. they even served a great red wine. i am one of the pickiest eaters i know and i loved everything from riad kniza!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank msheatherelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant and the riad are excellent and authentic moroccan experience in the medina. It is a sort of luxury with some pictures of celebreties with the owner.
The personal is also excellent and the quality of food is superb.
Of course you have to pay for this. It is not a cheap restaurant. However it is worth if you can affort it. We paid 1800 DH for 4 perssons without wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcmartindaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine dining affair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We celebrated our mother's 60th birthday here having read raving reviews about the restaurant. We had a slight nightmare trying to find the restaurant - it really is tucked away down a side alley and even taxi drivers didn't seem too sure where it was. Do the map research in advance! As for the surroundings, it is a beautiful place and does definitely give off the exclusive dining feel, although I personally found the atmosphere a little stifling and quiet. Service was very good and attentive, and the highlight of the food was definitely the mixed mezze at the beginning and the luxurious chocolate cake that was brought out for mum's birthday (which we think they used to replace any other dessert that we would have got, as we never saw that). The mains were actually the most 'ordinary' of the lot - although well done, they were no different in taste and quality to the tagines we had had in less formal, cafe-type surroundings for half the price and for this reason, I feel it is more a 4-star place than a 5-star. Very nice for an intimate dinner or refined affair, but in the end, I wasn't sure it totally lived up to all the hype.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank van06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing how many dishes they bring for you to experience. Everything was delicious. It cost like 100$ for two, but totally worth it if you want a great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This beautiful restaurant has wonderful food, wine and service. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy their evening in Marrakech.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ifcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing