We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $73
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant and the riad are excellent and authentic moroccan experience in the medina. It is a sort of luxury with some pictures of celebreties with the owner.
The personal is also excellent and the quality of food is superb.
Of course you have to pay for this. It is not a cheap restaurant. However it is worth if you can affort it. We paid 1800 DH for 4 perssons without wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    74
    13
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine dining affair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We celebrated our mother's 60th birthday here having read raving reviews about the restaurant. We had a slight nightmare trying to find the restaurant - it really is tucked away down a side alley and even taxi drivers didn't seem too sure where it was. Do the map research in advance! As for the surroundings, it is a beautiful place and does definitely give off the exclusive dining feel, although I personally found the atmosphere a little stifling and quiet. Service was very good and attentive, and the highlight of the food was definitely the mixed mezze at the beginning and the luxurious chocolate cake that was brought out for mum's birthday (which we think they used to replace any other dessert that we would have got, as we never saw that). The mains were actually the most 'ordinary' of the lot - although well done, they were no different in taste and quality to the tagines we had had in less formal, cafe-type surroundings for half the price and for this reason, I feel it is more a 4-star place than a 5-star. Very nice for an intimate dinner or refined affair, but in the end, I wasn't sure it totally lived up to all the hype.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing how many dishes they bring for you to experience. Everything was delicious. It cost like 100$ for two, but totally worth it if you want a great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This beautiful restaurant has wonderful food, wine and service. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy their evening in Marrakech.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you want a wow night in a road you will not be dissapointed.
We booked and organized the risd to send a driver for us, we were driven to the square and met by a member of the road staff and taken to the road.
It is a fantastic road and we had a guided toyr of the royal suite, after that we sat in the restaurant and had a lovely morrocan meal.
It isn't cheap but we enjoyed the experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.