We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining affair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $31 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fine dining affair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We celebrated our mother's 60th birthday here having read raving reviews about the restaurant. We had a slight nightmare trying to find the restaurant - it really is tucked away down a side alley and even taxi drivers didn't seem too sure where it was. Do the map research in advance! As for the surroundings, it is a beautiful place and does definitely give off the exclusive dining feel, although I personally found the atmosphere a little stifling and quiet. Service was very good and attentive, and the highlight of the food was definitely the mixed mezze at the beginning and the luxurious chocolate cake that was brought out for mum's birthday (which we think they used to replace any other dessert that we would have got, as we never saw that). The mains were actually the most 'ordinary' of the lot - although well done, they were no different in taste and quality to the tagines we had had in less formal, cafe-type surroundings for half the price and for this reason, I feel it is more a 4-star place than a 5-star. Very nice for an intimate dinner or refined affair, but in the end, I wasn't sure it totally lived up to all the hype.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    62
    12
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing how many dishes they bring for you to experience. Everything was delicious. It cost like 100$ for two, but totally worth it if you want a great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This beautiful restaurant has wonderful food, wine and service. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy their evening in Marrakech.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“lovely riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you want a wow night in a road you will not be dissapointed.
We booked and organized the risd to send a driver for us, we were driven to the square and met by a member of the road staff and taken to the road.
It is a fantastic road and we had a guided toyr of the royal suite, after that we sat in the restaurant and had a lovely morrocan meal.
It isn't cheap but we enjoyed the experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were looking for somewhere nice to eat on our last night in Marrakech, we opted to eat in the Riad Kniza Restaurant. The menu is very very straightforward, basically it's 4 courses of which the only one you get any choice on is the main where you can choose which Tagine you fancy. The food was very very good indeed, portions were very generous. Our waiter was brilliant, very attentive but not overly so. It's not the cheapest but then you get what you pay for and it was our best meal in Marrakech over the 4 nights we stayed there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.