We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful elegance and charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 668 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $72
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful elegance and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here on the first and last night of a quick Moroccan tour in which the hotel arranged for a two night desert trip. We were amazed by the opulence and luxury of the Royal Bahia suite, enjoyed our city tour and cooking classes and hamam sessions and feasted on an incredible multi-course meal. The small dining rooms and pool area as well as the roof deck are all stunning and the staff is incredible.

Room Tip: Royal Suite Bahia is INCREDIBLE opulence and luxurty whereas same price Senior Suite Kenza is a bit...
See more room tips
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwsk_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“top marks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

food, service, riad, everything perfect. we were staying at the riad and the food there was among the best we tasted in Marrakech. the surroundings were without question the best

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eskillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

A hard-run battle between here and Gastro MK for Best Moroccan Restaurant - which the latter *just* sneaks for me, but that's personal preference. This is a more traditional take on Moroccan cuisine.

Stunning building, attentive staff and huge portions if great food - book well in advance and skip lunch if coming here for dinner.

The owner gave a brief tour of the building and a choice of tables too. Our waiter was charming and more than happy to answer our questions about the dishes! (Vegetarian menu option offered as standard).

Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Moroccan cuisine, service and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our visit to Rhiad Kniza was based on a recommend and was certainly well founded. The Rhiad is elegant and we were seated in one of the salons downstairs. We had ordered our meat for main course the day before; 1 chicken and 1 lamb! There were 4 courses in total, all perfectly cooked and wonderfully presented. The Moroccan wine was fabulous and the service attentive yet not intrusive. My husband and I had a fabulous time here and would definitely return if we come to Marrakech in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, FL USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding service in a very relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Kniza , so it was natural to have eaten here a couple of times. The menu is very limited but the quality is excellent. There is no real restaurant so the Riad uses several traditional Morrocan rooms as well as the roof top area as the restaurant. Service is outstanding as was the food. They are also very accommodating and one evening we only wanted a light fare and they came up with some very delicious chicken sandwiches. On another night we had the full menu which included appetizers, tagines, and dessert for less than 45 euros. They will cook for you at basically any time of night. Morrocan food at its best

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernand755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing