We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 555 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $32 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Go hungry as the food is lovely and it would be a shame to leave a morsel.
All the staff made us feel welcome.
Our waiter was informative about the food. He was attentive but not intrusive.
The Morrocan red was fine ( there is no list, a choice of colour is offered)
We came away feeling VERY full , still tasting the flavours and talking about the ambience

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    60
    10
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Morocco at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My Tunisian and I visited Kniza Riad after reading a few reviews on TA. We both haf a fabulous evening. If you happen to be in Marrakech do not give this place a miss. Food was excellent, service was fabulous, not too intrusive. We where made to feel very special and welcome. This is true moroccan dining at its best. The Riad is owned and run by a Moroccan family. Their charming son spoke perfect English and was kind enough to give us a tour of the Riad even thought we where not staying guests. We shall return and next time not just for dinner but to stay over too. After all a place that's been visited by President Regan and Brad Pit can't be all that bad ;) Thank you for a membrobal evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service. Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had dinner here on our first night in Marrakech. You have to have a build an appetite to enjoy this 5 course meal. From the soup to the salad and the tagine, the food was superbly prepared and tasted delicious. The staff were discreet and served well. Atmosphere was great . A great way to start our trip

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would definitely go again- Great food! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I chose to visit this restaurant with my husband after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor and was definitely not disappointed. This is a family owned restaurant and could tell straight away how proud this family was of their business as they were working extremely hard all night to ensure each table was getting the best service possible. I don't think my glass was ever empty as the waiters were constantly coming round and refilling.

What can I say about the food? AMAZING......the portions were generous and the food was full of flavour. There were 5 courses in total so you need to pace yourself but each dish was timed perfectly giving us enough time to enjoy each one before the next.

When you enter the restaurant there is a little display dedicated to the stars who have eaten at the restaurant such as bill gates and will smith. I can see wh yet his restaurant would attract such names as it was such a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy room great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

5 course meal giving you a taste of most morroco dishes. Good size portions. Great first 3 courses main, tagine was ok but by now we were on our 3rd day of tagines. Great experience and great friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.