We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy room great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 548 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $32 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy room great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

5 course meal giving you a taste of most morroco dishes. Good size portions. Great first 3 courses main, tagine was ok but by now we were on our 3rd day of tagines. Great experience and great friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    58
    10
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I dinned here our first night in Marrakech, and we ate very well here. The food was divine and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The riad itself is beautiful, and very romantic. So, If you want to have a tasty dinner in a romantic atmosphere with great service and staff, then this is the place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If you want traditional Moroccan fare in wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Riad Kniza stands as the polar opposite to Gastro MK, they both charge the same for a set menu but where Gastro MK offers an innovative and quite brilliant take on Moroccan food, Riad Kniza provides you with the traditional version and is an essential counterpoint to Gastro MK.

Yes the wine list is non-existant but quite frankly the food is of a high standard, the best pastilla I had was here, just divine and the portion size is just extreme, so pace yourself and take plenty of time over your food and savour the rich flavours and wonderfully seasoning of all the dishes.

The service is impeccable of course, while the riad itself is just beautiful and I would recommend eating on the roof if the weather is fine, very romantic and a lovely set up with plenty of room to wander to take in the star-ridden sky and the sights of the medina before eating more incredible food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed considering the high prices.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I invited here an English friend of mine who wanted try d to have a typical Moroccan dinner in a riad. The place is stunning and the service quite good, but the quality of the 5 courses set menu is very poor and the Moroccan wine served it was as well very low quality: I was very disappointed considering the high prices paid.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A beautiful place and the general atmosphere more wonderful and delicious eating does not compare to any other restaurant. Catering in a professional manner and with a smile not dissociation employees. Location and trims global and its amazing design and Pensions steals kernels and amazing. One negative point that prices are high but the place is worthy of going

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.