We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 536 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $33 - $86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

While the food was good, we had even better during our stay in Marrakesh but the service and atmosphere were so wonderful, truly exquisite that it's worth the visit to experience it. Definitely expensive but the portions are large and the food tasty so you leave all in all satisfied.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    225
    58
    10
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Ct
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Moroccan food on fine china”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Semi private room with staff attending to all your whims. The food is very local and though I would prefer more spices than sweets the dining there is an exquisite and unforgettable experience

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A memorable dinner in a stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our visit to Riad Kniza was the best night of our holiday in Morocco. The food was good, honest, flavoursome Moroccan food, not fine dining, and not trying to be. It's not the best food we've ever eaten but we thoroughly enjoyed it, although we wished we'd skipped lunch because there was so much to eat!

What really sets this place apart though is the breathtaking beauty of the Riad itself, the warmth of the hospitality and the standard of service, which is second to none.

We weren't staying there, but from the moment we arrived the very genial and charming owner, Haj Mohamed Bouskri, and his wonderful staff went out of their way to make us feel like honoured guests in a family home. After a brief tour we were seated at a petal strewn table in a candlelit private dining room resplendent with Moroccan artefacts and opulent fabrics, and with a log fire burning at one end: perfect for a romantic dinner, but still very much appreciated by our family of five!

The waiter was a star - full of smiles and enthusiasm despite being rushed off his feet (we only realised afterwards that service hadn't been included so we went back the next day with a tip). The owner checked on us several times and eventually joined us at the table to chat about the history of the Riad, give us the benefit of his vast experience as a tour guide, and provide our daughters with some wise, philosophical advice about always treating your neighbours with kindness.

Ironically he suggested we visit Kasbah Tamadot for coffee on our trip to the High Atlas, and I'm quite sure he'd have been shocked to learn that we were turned away! Kasbah Tamadot, look and learn, Riad Kniza knows EXACTLY how to attract and retain custom.

All in all, a very memorable night, and we very much look forward to returning to Riad Kniza in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Couldnt have chosen a better place for our first moroccan meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow. 5 course meal, with wine, amazingly friendly service, and romantic and relaxing ambiance. Not too over the top fancy,but just right for getting your first traditional moroccan meal with nice company. Ask for Muhammed for a waiter if you can! He was UNBELIEVABLE. so happy and nice, took tons of pictures for us around the place. They called us a taxi while we ate dessert, without even being asked! Its hard to find since it can be driven right up to, but our hotel cab driver walked us to the door (highly recommended since its requires turning down a couple alley ways). They had a warm greeting at the door. Beautiful place, family owned for over 200 years and visited by many celebs (brad pitt, will smith, ect). It looks like it would be a wonderful place to stay as well. My favorite course of the set menu was the assortment of moroccan salads - about 7 different plates (see pictures). The owner came by and said hello as well! Its not loud or packed. Make sure to try it out!! lots of food for about 450 dh (about 60 dollars) each. reservations necessary since they asked what main dish you want (chicken, lamb, fish) as it is slowcooked before you get there (so yummy!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Moroccan joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

had dinner here and from the beginning to the end was it a joy!
The staff were so welcoming and the service excellent. The surroundings are amazing. Richly decorated rooms, but with only a few tables not too busy. the tables are strewn with rose petals.
the food was excellent. you can choose your main course.
excellent place to go for a special romantic meal but also just to enjoy good quality Moroccan food. It is more expensive than some places but about 45 euros per person. If you want cheap, eat in the market square, otherwise just sink into the plush cushions and enjoy.
The owner wlaked round to ask if everything was okay.
The general location is not that hard to find an is walkable from the Medina. It is down a very small alley and the board by the door is so small that you will miss it! as you walk down the alley (which does have a street name sign) the doorway is on the left side just round the first corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.