We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt have chosen a better place for our first moroccan meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $71
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Couldnt have chosen a better place for our first moroccan meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow. 5 course meal, with wine, amazingly friendly service, and romantic and relaxing ambiance. Not too over the top fancy,but just right for getting your first traditional moroccan meal with nice company. Ask for Muhammed for a waiter if you can! He was UNBELIEVABLE. so happy and nice, took tons of pictures for us around the place. They called us a taxi while we ate dessert, without even being asked! Its hard to find since it can be driven right up to, but our hotel cab driver walked us to the door (highly recommended since its requires turning down a couple alley ways). They had a warm greeting at the door. Beautiful place, family owned for over 200 years and visited by many celebs (brad pitt, will smith, ect). It looks like it would be a wonderful place to stay as well. My favorite course of the set menu was the assortment of moroccan salads - about 7 different plates (see pictures). The owner came by and said hello as well! Its not loud or packed. Make sure to try it out!! lots of food for about 450 dh (about 60 dollars) each. reservations necessary since they asked what main dish you want (chicken, lamb, fish) as it is slowcooked before you get there (so yummy!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    76
    13
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Moroccan joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

had dinner here and from the beginning to the end was it a joy!
The staff were so welcoming and the service excellent. The surroundings are amazing. Richly decorated rooms, but with only a few tables not too busy. the tables are strewn with rose petals.
the food was excellent. you can choose your main course.
excellent place to go for a special romantic meal but also just to enjoy good quality Moroccan food. It is more expensive than some places but about 45 euros per person. If you want cheap, eat in the market square, otherwise just sink into the plush cushions and enjoy.
The owner wlaked round to ask if everything was okay.
The general location is not that hard to find an is walkable from the Medina. It is down a very small alley and the board by the door is so small that you will miss it! as you walk down the alley (which does have a street name sign) the doorway is on the left side just round the first corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this riad, so if you read my review of that, you will have read about the food. If you don't stay here, then treat yourself to lunch (or dinner) on the open air roof top. You will not be disappointed. You can even take a cooking class here and go to the local markets to buy your ingredients, then come back and prepare them under the watchful eye of the chef.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I nearly didn't want to go anywhere else, after our first meal in Marrakech at the Riad Kniza restaurant. We did return for our last night as well, which seemed fitting. The food is of such outstanding quality that it's difficult to describe. The quantity is also insane...almost too much but we weren't going to complain! It's pricier than many other Marrakech restaurants, but worth twice of what we paid. It's a don't-miss place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marrakech Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Food was interesting and great. Food was authentic. Staff was very accommodating. We had breakfast daily during our stay of 4 nights.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.