We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $33 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I nearly didn't want to go anywhere else, after our first meal in Marrakech at the Riad Kniza restaurant. We did return for our last night as well, which seemed fitting. The food is of such outstanding quality that it's difficult to describe. The quantity is also insane...almost too much but we weren't going to complain! It's pricier than many other Marrakech restaurants, but worth twice of what we paid. It's a don't-miss place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    225
    57
    10
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Marrakech Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Food was interesting and great. Food was authentic. Staff was very accommodating. We had breakfast daily during our stay of 4 nights.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in fantastic surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant for my husband's 30th birthday. The hotel staff were fantastic and came to meet us at our taxi to personally walk us to the riad.

The food was delicious! Many courses and a real taste of Morrocco. We were just disappointed we couldn't finish it all!

The interior of the riad was beautiful and the restaurant felt cosy and intimate whilst still comfortable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A magical evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This riad is down a small alley which cannot be accessed by car. It's not easy to find if you don't know your way but you only have to say the name out loud and one of the locals will show you the way. The sign outside is tiny next to a huge solid wooden door and you could easily miss it.

Once inside you realise you are in for a treat and a taste of true Morrocan culture.
The Riad has been restored with great attention to detail.
We ate in a small room on sofas set for 4 (two tables). The tables were laid with typical Morrocan crockery of beautiful colours. A scattering of rose petals lay on the tables.

The Service was impeccable and our waiter was charming.
There is no menu but we were served 5 courses with a choice of main meal (lamb and prawn, chicken or fish). The starter was a traditional vegetable soup with chick peas, served with Morrocan bread. The next course was a selection of Morrocan salads with parcels containing either lamb, chicken or prawn. After this we had a chicken pastilla dusted in icing sugar. This was followed by our choice of main course which was cooked in a tagine and was very tasty. Finally we finished with a dessert that was like creme anglaise served in a sort of filo pastry and garnished with fresh dates. We could not have wished for a more lovely evening and were so pleased that this riad had been recommended to us. It was perfect for experiencing the real Marrakech.

We had a look at one of the rooms which was described to us as one of the smaller rooms. The bedroom was cosy but tastefully done. It had a lovely sitting room with two large sofas and a large flat screen tv. The interior design was an impeccable mix of traditional Morrocan styles with a contemporary twist.

At the end of the evening our waiter walked us down the narrow streets to find a taxi and negotiated the fare to our hotel.

If we come back to Marrakech we would stay here without a doubt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovley !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Realy it's a lovley place, goood food, friendly staff, the chef is young lady of small stance but the most amazing talent. Our only warning is to arrive hungry! Thank you Kniza for such an enjoyable opening evening in Marrakech!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.