We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluttony!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 525 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $34 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Gluttony!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The restaurant has a limited menu, specializing in Moroccan food. However, you can have a choice of fish, chicken or lamb. There is the "full" menu meal and the "short" menu meal. Our table had the "full" menu lemon chicken and lamb dishes. Both were excellent, both were the best we had in Morocco. The servings are large and can probably be shared by most couples.The restaurant is small. However, the Riad gives you the option to be served in several of their intimate tea rooms and I believe even the deck on the top floor. A must if you are in Marrakech.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    216
    57
    10
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Collected by a staff member of this fabulous Riad, the experience started by walking through a Souk and along an unmade path of rubble, but on arrival - WOW - an oasis of wonder. Beautifully fragrant, exquisitely decorated and for 45 euros a head we were fed course after course of wonderfully tasting food with excellent service. We asked to meet the chef who appeared at our table. A young lady of small stance but the most amazing talent. Our only warning is to arrive hungry! Thank you Kniza for such an enjoyable opening evening in Marrakech!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british rover
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing venue, expensive restaurant for fairly comparable 2 choice tagine based fixed menu, with any other decent myriad tagine ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is tucked away and well worth a visit, traditional with delectable rooms and pool etc. but you don't have to eat here to see it! The fixed menu is 5 courses, heading inextricably to the tagine as usual, always avoid chicken as it is inevitably dry (everywhere), lamb is good other courses are simple and also common everywhere.

So why eat here in particular? The venue - perhaps, but honestly the food part is at least £20 equivalent more expensive than other high end tagine joints, on that price basis this makes Kniza restaurant on a par with my local UK Michelin starred restaurant where choice and cooking is better.

£50 per head just about including wine is excessive and other cheaper places comparable. If you have money to burn and realise one chicken/lamb tagine is much like any other - go and enjoy!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A romantic treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was hard to find, but well worth the effort. We had a wonderful meal. The staff are fabulous, attentive without being intrusive. The food was excellent, and the riad itself is stunningly beautiful.

One of the most romantic meals we have ever shared and we would love to go back again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, HI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum! The real deal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After eating at 6 different high end restaurants of Marrakech, I can say the Riad Kniza holds its own. Yummy, authentic Moroccan food served by a gracious staff in a tasteful and quiet setting -- with fireplaces roaring none the less! Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.