We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So tasty and cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So tasty and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We ate every evening there. It always was tasty and very special. I normally never eat in the hotel where I stay but I felt this is the best you can get in the Medina. We loved the privacy at the fireplace.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    62
    12
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very disappointed !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The restaurant asked me to choose in the morning between tajine chicken lemon & olives or tajine lamb with apricot/prune or tajine fish & vegetables that means ONE SINGLE course menu ! (no opportunity to taste a couscous for instance or any other maroccan specialities)
We got 5 different plates : a soup (good) , a pastilla (too dry), the main plate (chicken : very disappointing because the meat was very dry, too little sauce and no couscous served with), 6 vegetables accommodations (not very interesting taste) and a dessert "brick with cream" (no big deal)
I must confess that my 2 daughters tasted the lamb and it was good even if my remarks concerning the sauce and the absence of couscous are still worth
So I would say that for the price we paid (50 Euros each) I will definitely not recommend this restaurant.
Nevertheless, the Riad is gorgeous, the dinning room is very nice with a fireplace, the service is professional. The owner's son welcomed us showing us the nice pictures of Bill Gates and Brad Pitt who visited the Riad but he disappeared then and did not come back. The owner joined us at the end of the dinner and was very charming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Step from one world to another”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a superbly appointed and sumptuous Riad just a step away from an intense Marrakech market street. We had dinner there in a dining room with three other couples at generous tables and served with accurate attention an excellent dinner. It is a must go location for dinner, if you cant afford to be resident. The Derb (alley) that the riad is in is off the south side of rue Bab Doukkala and not (as Google maps would suggest) off Rue El Gza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were enthralled by Riad Kniza's restaurant! The service was smiling and attentive from beginning to end! The problem is everything is so great! You must pace your dinner so you can enjoy everything! Many dine here though staying at other riads and hotels and I understand why! The food and the amazing decor of Riad Kniza transport you to an unforgettable exotic place! Loved it! Very romantic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gourmet experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed the five-course menu our first night. There was a lot of very good Moroccan food, served beautifully and in lovely surroundings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.