We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very intimate dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
34 Derb L'Hotel | Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5 24 37 69 42
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $34 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
london, england
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very intimate dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We dined in the restaurant at Riad Kniza whilst staying in the Riad. Our first dinner there was the set menu of Moroccan food which was very tasty, nicely served. Our second meal we kept simple. Just soup followed by monkfish tagine. It was my husband's birthday so they very kindly presented him with a stunning chocolate torte. The dining room is lovely, very intimate and few tables. The service was attentive and respectfully friendly. Couldn't fault it. My review of the Riad as a hotel is separate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    220
    57
    10
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very poor, but expensive experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Based on the good reviews on TA, we decided to try this restaurant. It is located in a riad in the old medina where the taxi can’t arrive and it not easy at all to find it. It was raining...nobody around to ask for directions and I assure you that to arrive finally at the restaurant in the maze of little streets badly lit has been a quite unpleasant adventure.
The quality of the Moroccan food served was much lower than average.
The pastilla chosen by my friend, that is supposed to be a pigeon pastilla as per the traditional Moroccan recipe, was instead chicken and my chicken tagine a real disaster: This despite the fact that at the moment of the reservation the restaurant wanted to know our choice of the main courses “...because our traditional dishes take hours to be cooked”, I was told!. The riad it is very nice and the service not too bad, but this is not at all enough to justify the visit and the rather expensive bill.
A very poor, but expensive experience!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_bouskri, General Manager at Riad Kniza Restaurant, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor readers,

While we are always open to constructive critics as we continue to strive to improve the quality of experience we offer our guests, we believe this review to be unfair, if not simply a mistake:

First, this review is totally not consistent with how our other more credible reviewers on TA describe their experience at Riad Kniza. By "more credible" I mean users who have not just created an account to recently to post their review about us, but travelers who have been TripAdvisor members for years and have posted dozens of contributions. If our property was just half as bad as this reviewer claims we would never have received the endorsement of so many reviewers and achieved our current ranking, and we would never have been able to count among our clients celebrities such as: Bill Gates, David Rockefeller Jr., Brad Pit, Garry Kasparov … This review just does not make any cense.

Also once has only to look at map of Marrakech to see how Riad Kniza is among the best located restaurants in the Medina of Marrakech.

Another fact that discredits this review is that the reviewer claims to have ordered a pigeon pastilla. This is simply not possible as we do not have it anywhere on our menu and we never propose it. Please check our menu online to see for yourself (riadkniza.com/restaurant-menu.php).

We also cater for only a maximum of 8 tables per day and we would have certainly remembered such recent unhappy customers and we would have made sure they left our property with a smile. However no such complaints by any of our guests have been made, and certainly not during the past 2 weeks.

Sincerely,
Kamal Bouskri
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A-maz-ing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we picked this riad restaurant from write-ups on trip advisor and what a meal. A 5 course banquet comprising of the most fantastic tastes. The best meal we had in Marrakech.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful Setting for a special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to splash out on a special meal and I'm glad we chose Kniza. It's very difficult to find but if you start at the wall end of Bab Doukala, it's the second avenue on the right. The staff couldn't be friendlier and more attentive. A 5 course set meal cost around £90 with a good bottle of wine (hugely expensive in Moroccan terms but worth every penny). We loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to sample good Moroccan food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We cooked then we ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We did a morning at the cookery school under the expert guidance of Amina. Then ate our meal on the glorious terrace with wonderful service. What a place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.