We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“escape from Jemaa el-Fna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Al Bahja

Restaurant Al Bahja
Rue Bani Marine | (between the Bank al Maghrib and the post office on the south side of Jemaa el Fna), Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-40343
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 590 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Street Food
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Street Food
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“escape from Jemaa el-Fna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Clean restaurant with good food. Very well priced and polite staff. Locals eat here and you can relax; great for a change of scenery at the crazy souks. Best yogurt I've ever had, don't leave without getting one!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    65
    15
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good Moroccan Food, Good Prices, and Locals Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My friends and I dined at Al Bahja on Friday, October 11 and had a pleasant meal. Our group of 5 ordered vegetarian and beef tagines, skewers of chicken and beef, as well as couscous with beef. Fresh bread and olives were served with our meal as well. The food was good - typical Moroccan, and given that the customers were 75% Moroccans, I would say it was a pretty representative of the cuisine. We paid 210 Moroccan dirhams (19 Euros/$25) for 5 people, including water to drink (juices are available, but no alcohol).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The Real Morocco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Who I took to be the owner/chef welcomed me into his restaurant even though it was quite early in the evening and there was only one couple there with small children who probably don't wait until 8 pm for dinner. While the menu was limited, the chef volunteered to expand it, according to ingredients he had on hand. I asked for cheese to be added to the plain omelet, but he didn't have any cheese, so I settled for the plain. It was nice and hot and good. The restaurant is about the simplest place in the world, the prices are amazingly low, and I felt as though I was dealing with real people. I would gladly go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“nice home-made yogurt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had dinner here. Food was very cheap. No smoking place. Basic laminated tables and chairs, but clean and functional. We ordered kebabs. There were too much meat / chicken / lamb served with a little bit of salad - would like it the other way round, less meat and more salad. The home-made yogurt was very nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Cheap, but good, food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is a block off the main square and serves both locals and tourists alike. They certainly haven't raised their prices or tried to make the place a little nicer for the sake of the tourists. The food was good, and so cheap that we felt like we should have paid more than we did. The server we ordered with spoke fairly good English as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Al Bahja also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Al Bahja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Al Bahja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.