We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Portofino
279 av. Mohammed V | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
024/391665
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013


wonderful food from Italian to Moroccan in a calm and peaceful setting . International music and sports tv for those who need it. Staff very helpful with excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    39
    44
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Ticked the box”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

In Marrakech it is easy to find cheap eating out with no alcohol and top end restaurants with expensive wine.
It is really quite difficult to find ordinary middle of the road restaurants at moderate prices which serve alcohol.
In this respect the Portofino was excellent. We had a very nice pizza with beers ( wine was available) at a good price in nice surroundings and so near the Square.
If you have tired of Morrocan food and just want a nice pizza or pasta ( or a Morrocan dish) at a nice price and in acceptable surroundings then it is worth a visit here. Very close to the Square and you can have beer or wine with your meal and still have change from £20 for 2.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic and thank you for the lift to the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

You will probably know straight away who is writing this review :)
Spent 7 days in Marrakech and to be fair 6 of them we ended up having a meal at Portofino. For very simple reasons:
- great service - nothing much of a problem, they remembered us after the first visit, smiley, ready to go an extra mile to make sure you leave happy.
-great food (still longing for the avocado and crab salad that one of the reviewers mentioned, superb!). I was more adventurous to compare with my other half who fell in love with their carbonara!), everything I tried was tasty and fresh, couldn't ask for anything more.
- great views, very clean place, was nice to run away from the insanity of the bustling streets.
- very reasonable prices to compare with other "touristic" places.

Best of greetings and thank you again for lovely experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were looking for somewhere that might have more to offer vegetarians than simply another vegetable tagine which had probably been made with meat stock anyway. Portofino was a backup option (Pepe Nero was fully-booked, l'Ultimo Bacio didn't answer the phone). My friend's pasta with arrabiata tasted of raw garlic, while my decision to go with the couscous seemed the right one: I don't think anyone involved in the cooking has ever been to Italy. It's more expensive than many other places in Marrakech, and clearly caters to tourists tired of Morroccan food but unable to afford/book at one of the more up-market Italian places. The service was cheery, but very slow.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Four of us ate here only one having a starter the prawn and advacado salad and when we tasted it we all wished we had ordered it, very tasty. The mains were good quality and tasty not enormous portions and we all ate every bit. Would not hesitate to eat here again

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.