We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a Moroccan Feast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Chahramane

Palais Chahramane
6 rue Sidi Bouchouka | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
024/389918
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 536 Restaurants in Marrakech
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Experience a Moroccan Feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

As with many of the experiences in Morocco - the Palais Chahramane was a lovely surprise!

Knowing that we were scheduled to have lunch at a 'palace', we were eager to see what was in store. Our guide took us walking through various avenues around the medina - small shops in shabby storefronts lined the streets, many were 'closed' during the call to prayer - their doors blocked simply with a scrap of fabric strung haphazard across a pole. We passed by elderly vendors selling fresh citrus fruits from dilapidated wheelbarrows. Broken down mules pulled broken down carts - both held together by various scraps of fabric which were bound around wounded legs and broken wheels, as they had been for many years. The scene was a step back into time, in an area - with people - that had at one time seen much better days. The people seemed tired - not rude - but 'tolerant' of the tourists parading down their worn streets, taking photos of their lives.

We came upon the restaurant on one of these streets - it was obvious from the doorway outside that the inside had been better maintained than most of our surroundings - although it seemed to be nothing 'grand' at first look. But behind the door - another world. The foyer alone was a stark contrast to the rustic world outside - slick mosaic tile, polished brass, bright fabrics, and stained glass complemented the ornately carved architectural details that indeed gave the impression implied in the name - that you had arrived to a 'palace'.

The restaurant was grand - and the staff attentive and well experienced in the art of 'taking care of tourists'. We passed through a hall of dancing and singing staff dressed in traditional costume on our way to the dining area - which was impressive with it's grand architecture. The meals came in courses - first a place of various vegetable salads, next a huge platter of couscous topped with veal and roasted vegetables, and finally a platter of fresh-off-the-tree tangerines for a refreshing desert. I am gluten free by medical necessity, and the staff graciously provided me a delicious tagine of chicken - slowly roasted with lemons and olives. It was all most delicious - made even tastier by the feast for the eyes in the grand surroundings of the palace.

An in-house photographer was there to take photos of each diner engaged in a traditional tableside hand-washing ritual, and for a couple of dollars, you take the 5x7 photo with you when you leave - carefully placed into a new envelope for safe keeping on your travels. Dancers and musicians performed in a larger central dining area within sight of our dining 'room'. The other diners were groups of local businessmen, along with a couple of other tour groups like ours.

The wait staff was first class - very hospitable, the food fresh and delicious, and the experience exotic! This was a wonderful dining experience in every way - making the contrast of what you see outside in the streets a different experience after exiting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    13
    22
    14
    12
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with Moroccan cuisine and environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The food is very tasty and real Moroccan cuisine. The decor of the place is beautiful and Moroccan. There music performers, signing Moroccan/berber songs. The service was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An incredible waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I were led to this restaurant by a taxi driver. We were initially very impressed by the decor (very lavish and traditional) as well as the ambience (live singer).

However as soon as we ordered - we weren't very hungry due to the heat plus a big breakfast - we were immediately treated very rudely by the waiter for ordering too little food. He told us it wasn't enough, ripped the menu cards away and left in a huff.

The rest of the staff wasn't much better.

The irony came later on when we received our dishes. The food - which is generally excellent at most other places in Marrakech - was AWFUL. It tasted very old, very stale and was generally not edible. So the irony was that despite getting told off and mistreated for ordering "too little" we actually ate less than half of the unappetizing meal - and in the end actually ordered far too much.

The final kick in the rear end came when the original waiter brought the bill and immediately decided to helpfully remind us that the bill did not include service.

And how much did we pay for this fiasco? Over $50.

STAY AWAY,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marrakech, Morocco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a surprise find. We intended to go to a restaurant that was recommended to us only to find it was closed for a month due to a fire. A young man and his brother approached us and said they knew a good place. We bravely followed them down a dark and shady looking street to an oasis amongst the trash filled streets. Up two flights of stairs and down two very long and quiet hallways and the doors opened up to a red carpeted room billowing with the smells of exotic spices and live moroccan music. Silk pillows filled every bench and chair in a room that was wall to wall mosaic tile and wood carvings. It was stunning. The servers, all men, were gracious and attentive and the food was authentic! Good prices and authentic atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“The best thing about it is the free WIFI”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Im currently sat in the restaurant using their superfast wifi...brilliant! Came on the recommendation of our taxi driver. The building is beautiful ..but heres where it ends.

Terrible...well the list is endless!

Having just finished our meal, which was the usual moroccan tagine, cous cous, pastilla and fruit to finish. All for the bargain price of £48 per person. Total rip off!! The starter of salad was several bowls of cold courgette, aubergine and carrot. Mains were lumps of very dry lamb and dry cous cous and dry stale bread. Watermelon to finish was nice. All crockery is badly chipped, as such unhygienic..

The entertainment was laughable, the first pair were half singing and half playing a guitar..one of them kept stopping playing to send text messages. ..quite ridiculous!

Various musicians wheeled out that look half dead and totally disinterested! No dancers after nearly 3 hours here. Looking around the room everyone looks bored to tears other than the people laughing.

This is a tourist trap, being the first to arrive, we witnessed the other diners arriving with their taxi drivers (as we did). All the taxi drivers receive kick backs for bringing tourists here. Very disappointing as we feel totally duped..both by our taxi driver ( whom we have used all week) and this hell hole.

It feels like we cant leave til its over, as we would feel rude crossing the dance floor from our seats ..right past the musicians. The perils of British politeness. ..

PLEASE do not get sucked in , its an awkward embarrassing charade just to take money from unsuspecting tourists. Not authentic at all... and the food is the worst I have eaten whilst here.. yuk

ps on the way out after paying by card, a waiter ran after us and said what about the tip? I said we have left cash on the table; he then said its a good tip? I'd left 40D around £4 which was more than was deserved! Very pushy and rude..so shameless.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Chahramane also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Palais Chahramane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Chahramane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.