We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant in a former palace.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Chahramane

Palais Chahramane
6 rue Sidi Bouchouka | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
024/389918
Improve this listing
Ranked #498 of 607 Restaurants in Marrakech
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant in a former palace.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The entrance is unassuming but the inside was a wonderful surprise! Beautiful !Food was good and there was lots of it. . Most of the entertainment was very good but some of the dancers looked like they hated their jobs. We went as a group and had very good service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    17
    16
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Overpriced tourist trap for group tours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Made the mistake of coming here for lunch today by accident. Taxi driver recommendation, I should have known better! As soon as I walked in and saw hordes of Caucasian tourist faces I knew I had made a mistake. Not one Moroccan diner. Decor was sumptuous so we sat down and thought we'd make the best of it. We were presented with the set menu. Massively overpriced for very simple everyday fare. We had eaten the same food previously in Marrakech and other cities for a quarter of the price. We put down the menus, smiled and walked out. Having now read the other reviews here about the food I think that was our best decision of the day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing traditional corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It was a good idea to have our dinner at this restaurant the food was delicious and the place was so amazing pure Moroccan architecture and decoration
Definitely I will visit it again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A very good introduction to evening dining with quality decor, ambiance & service at the higher cost range in Marrakech.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bearing in mind my wife & I are here at off peak season and had arrived mid evening, our riad concierge walked with us to this restaurant. Arriving at 9pm there were less than a dozen patrons seated. We were seated & supplied with menus including one for wine and elected a set menu each at close to 300dirham and a half bottle of Moroccan Cabernet at 120dhm.
Impressively about 10 small bowls plus bread & oil got us started - then the brochettes and chicken with preserved lemon strips - both dishes we shared & agreed that they were not as spiced as we expected, both being here for the first time remember & my wife being a decent cook of international food is well read on the subject. 
After this we were getting full then in came a fresh fruit selection followed by the Moroccan pastries with impressive mint tea served correctly with the leaves/stalks in the glasses.
Entertainment was a resident quartet, other acts were a lady dancing with a tray on her head - the next act was another quartet plus 3 young wholesome ladies who chanted with the music including occasional Berber ululing finally a belly dancer entered giving a good display of her skills.
We thought the evening entertaining, the ambiance very good, the food very passable - since this meal we had others with delicious (not hot) spices - so having viewed previous reports we feel they must have got their act together & now give value for quality our only criticism being the food was a little bland.
We were very surprised on leaving the restaurant to see our guide had returned to prevent us getting lost (we chose to believe).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Moroccan Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were taken to Palais Chahramane as part of a cruise tour. The building is stunning; it's actually a palace. Musicians played as we entered, and more musicians entertained us during lunch. Our groups filled the restaurant. The food seemed a bit "Americanized," but it was all tasty and the local wine flowed freely. Our meal started with Moroccan salad - an enormous platter of fresh vegetables and rice - and was followed by steamed veggies and fruits, then large marinated chicken breasts. The service was outstanding. Berber dancers joined the musicians, and finally a belly dancer mesmerized the crowd. I have no idea about the regular prices, as our meal was included with the tour. All in all, I recommend Palais Chahramane if you want an authentic Moroccan experience in a gorgeous setting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Chahramane also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Palais Chahramane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Chahramane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.