We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Restaurant l'Etoile

Cafe Restaurant l'Etoile
49 rue Bab Agnaou | Place Jemaa el Fna, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
024/391942
Improve this listing
Ranked #362 of 603 Restaurants in Marrakech
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Ate lunch here yesterday. We had a couple of chicken shawarmas which came with chips for 20 MAD each so we felt it was good value. The service was good too, the food didn't take too long to come out and they didn't rush us to leave. It's in a good location just near the square and was over half full when we went.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    17
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sat down and walked out without looking at the menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Do not go there.

At 8pm the restaurant was absolutely empty despite the 200 or so seats available. The kitchen and service staff was sitting in front of the kitchen, waiting for an order to come. We walked upstairs only to find a fishy, badly lit disgusting terrace. 2 tables out of 20 were occupied. It felt extremely weird. The waiter grabbed a menu and started brushing the crumbs off the table with it. I could see the food poisoning coming from 1000km away...

30s later we got up and left.

We ended up eating at Riad d'Omar which was far better 200m further.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

this is a good place to sit and watch the action in Jemaa al Fna. We only had tea and salad and they were both good. The services was fine and the prices low. You can do a lot worse if you are not looking for fine dining

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little café for a break near Djema El Fna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Venture all the way up to the terasse on a sunny day and enjoy a cold drink and some moroccan pastries while looking out over Djema El Fna! Lots of choices and possible to eat if you are hungry , however I recommend this place for a little nice break to rest your tired legs and sip some coffee, tea or drinks. Conveniently located and nice service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was okay, nothing great to say though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The food was okay, not the best we had but not the worst either. The basket of bread looked and felt like it was cobbled together from leftovers, which is a pity because Moroccan bread is delicious. I had a grilled chicken which was tough and my partner had a kebab which was fine. Service was slow and brusque and the waiter was quick to point out that service wasn't included. I would not bother returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Restaurant l'Etoile also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant l'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Restaurant l'Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.