We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Duper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Livre

Cafe du Livre
44 Rue Tariq Ibn Ziad | Off to one side of the entrance to Hotel Toulousain, Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-32149
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Bistro, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Super Duper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

With new owners in place this cafe has come to life! They have different activities available such as the library, showing sports games and Monday quiz night! Great atmosphere and lovely staff! Very happy I found this place! ALSO, they have, hands down, the best chicken wings in Morocco!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely place for a cup of tea, a read and a go on the wifi.

Smaller than expected but great place to relax from the busy city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Everything you want....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Its true! For me this place is everything you want in a bar / restaurant - a little off the beaten track, good food, great bar, good people! You can make it whatever you want it to be - a lively evening spot (Mondays recommended) or a quiet retreat in the day to catch up on the papers or just hide out in a corner with a good book in the company of like minded people and assisted by a couple of glasses or three. Solitude is great but there is also good and varied company who will welcome you into their midst or respect your privacy, its your choice. Food covers a wide range and variety and is definitely very well priced. I'm in Marrakech quite a lot and this place will in future be one of my first stops once I have dropped the bags off! Its the sort of place that some people would like to keep a secret but its the variety of the clientele that make this place special, not to mention the staff. So, go along you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“A wonderfull spot in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Martina: I've been in Cafe du Livre so many time that I don't remember. I will suggest to everybody that is in town on Monday to go there for the Quiz Night. It's fun, it's a good way to have a beer or amazing food and it's a good opportunity to meet people. That for me what Cafe du Livre is about. It's about people. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, The owner, Liz and Youness are amazing, always happy and always ready to help. The Staff is kind and perfect. Everytime you go there you have the feeling to be a big group of friend, even if is just the first time. Also the food is really good. Liz put all her passion in every dish is on the menu, and you can taste it. A good place to spend afternoon reading a book or playing chess. A good place to have delicious food. A good place to meet people.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coziest Spot in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I first visited Cafe du Livre a couple of weeks ago and I am well on my way to becoming a regular. The drinks are very reasonably priced and the food is even more so when the quality and portion sizes are taken into account. Add to that a very comfortable and cozy atmosphere and you get the must-visit bar and cafe that is Cafe du Livre.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Livre also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe du Livre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Livre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.