We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pure gem in Marrakech new town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Livre

Cafe du Livre
44 Rue Tariq Ibn Ziad | Off to one side of the entrance to Hotel Toulousain, Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-32149
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 555 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Bistro, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A pure gem in Marrakech new town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have been living in Marrakech for about 4 months now and I am so glad that I found Cafe Du Livre. The food is great and a welcome change from tagine and cous-cous especially as they serve a mean cheese and bacon toastie.
Quiz night on a Monday is a must but is not on again until September :-(... Liz and Younis are great hosts and always very welcoming. The draft beer is extra special and I have never seen it anywhere else in Morocco as everywhere I have been only sells bottles, plus they have a great happy hour in the evening.
Overall a fantastic place to while away a few hours with a beer and a book, definitely a thumbs up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A place to escape the craziness of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Cafe du Livre is a great place to relax and have a break from all the craziness of Marrakech. Great food, friendly service and reasonable prices. It is a small cafe with wifi and people just relaxing and enjoying the atmosphere. It really was a great place to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a bustling day of exploring Marrakech it is nice to find a place where you can relax, have a drink and great food. The big selection of local and international dishes, friendly atmosphere and great service speak for themselves. I definitely recommend this place and never hesitate to pay a visit when i am in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Marrakech must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hmmmmm, what can I say about Cafe du Livre? I don't think there was a week in my 3.5 years living in Marrakech that I did not visit this place. It's welcoming atmosphere and varied menu always gave me something to indulge in. The Monday 'Quiz Night' is a great way to let your hair down and catch up with friends and make new ones. It has a great mix of local and tourists walk through its doors. It always has something on, whether it be a screening of the 'big' football match or an acoustic set performed by local musicians. I particularly miss the lemon tart, a personal favourite. There are many things I would move back to Marrakech for and Cafe du Livre is definitely one of them! A visit to Marrakech should ALWAYS include a visit to Cafe du Livre.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Relaxed and welcoming all the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Cafe du Livre is a great place to sit back and enjoy your time with a group or on your own. The atmosphere is welcoming and leisurely. I felt compfortable whenever I went in whether it were to meet a friend or to use the free wifi and have a drink. The menu had a great variety of dishes. The chocolate orange tart is amazing as is the chilli dish. Definitely a place to go if you are staying in the Ville Nouvelle/ Gueliz area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Livre also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe du Livre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Livre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.