We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Livre

Cafe du Livre
44 Rue Tariq Ibn Ziad | Off to one side of the entrance to Hotel Toulousain, Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-32149
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Bistro, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Quite difficult to find but a good place to have a snack and a drink. They do excellent sandwiches and salads.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cafe du livre truly the place to be in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Salade du chef? Trust the chef and here is a challenge for you: finish it!!! Amazing times in a nice and friendly environment, good music and a true pub ambiance like there is none in marrakech. Lis and younes will make sure you and your friends will have a great time. Good match day ambiance as well. Just love the place and want it to share it with you. Ps. Try the buffalo chicken wings mmm

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I live outside Marrakech and love going to Cafe du Livre for a great burger and glass of beer/wine and to listen to some good music, use the free wifi, and catch up with friends. They also have an amazingly delicious chocolate and orange tart that taste like a Pepperidge Farm orange Milano cookie! The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is calm. It can get a little smoky, but I sometimes forget that smoking is only illegal in America. I have also had the tapas and the salads, and I have never been disappointed. I definitely recommend it for people who want a cool place off the beaten path, or for expats living in Morocco who want a little taste of home :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice sandwiches and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch, the service was prompt and friendly and the food good, salad well seasoned and the chips excellent!
.
Our waitress was very friendly and helpful but didn't bring change until reminded to, she assumed it was all for the tip (it was not). The amount of the tip is for the customer to decide, not the staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yassine M, Owner at Cafe du Livre, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I'm so happy that you enjoyed the food at Cafe du Livre! It can be quite hard to find vegetarian dishes here, so I'm glad you found us!

I'm also very sorry about the situation with your change, and happy I was able to catch it as it happened and get that sorted out. I've spoken at length to the waitress to make sure that this does not happen again in the future!

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. It is greatly appreciated! -Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A MUST for expats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The food is decent, They serve cheese and bacon! (enough said if you've spent any time in Morocco) the drinks are fairly average for the price, but this place is a MUST for expats, especially the quiz nights on Mondays. This costs 30 dirhams, but you have a chance to socialize with other English speakers over the course of 100 questions, plus the snow-ball question, so if you're clever the night can pay for itself. I was recommended here and it's been a huge asset, I've met so many people and friends of people, etc. though coming here....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Livre also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe du Livre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Livre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.